Vlog #123: New Steemit UI looks nice + I'm flexible while they work on the website.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I had some trouble finding sleep last night so I checked my mobile at around 3 am and noticed a subtle change on the Steemit website.

This morning it became clear to me that small changes to the UI have been implemented. I like it.

On my desktop but especially on mobile. I like the dark blue on the upvote button and when linking to usernames. I also like the username above the article when going through my feed.

I also read a new post from the Steemit team updating us about recent events. I didn't understand every (technical) aspect of the post but this part made me happy.


Many of these improvements take significant time and resources to investigate, design, develop, test, and deploy. We understand that you all want to be kept up to date with the latest progress, but there are many competing factors when providing the community with frequent updates. Our top priority remains improving the platform as rapidly as possible, and we do not want to distract from that. We also want to avoid drawing unnecessary attention to anything that a potential attacker could exploit until we have fully evaluated the situation.

The Steemit development team takes any issue that impacts the usability of the website very seriously. We have multiple performance monitors in place, which are running on the website 24/7, and we are alerted instantly if the site ever goes down. We track many metrics that inform us of how long things are taking as users are interacting with the website. We know when there are issues. We also appreciate the many alerts that we receive from users when they notice something that could be wrong. We may not always communicate publicly about every challenge we face, but you can rest assured that we are actively working to resolve all issues as quickly as possible.


For me, this is all I want to know.

Does this mean that all the current troubles of the steemit.com website are fixed? Nope. But they are working on it and I couldn't ask for more for a product I get to use for free.

In the meantime I'm flexible, I use different frontends like busy.org or Esteem when I want to comment and upvote and I make it work for myself.

I talk about it more in my vlog.




Sort:  

One of your best, bro. Love it. Well, here are a few of my personal thoughts on the matter:

Steemit isn't working properly. Obvious enough to see. Will it remain like this for good? No... Are there "alternatives" out there to see us through until the issues are resolved? Yes... Is Steemit our "right and privilege" considering we paid next to nothing to sign up? Absolutely not...

The way I see it, Ned has responded with a post to say that himself and the team are on it. That was all I needed to hear. No long technical explanation as to the problems, causes or intended solutions. Just a simple "We're on it." sufficed. It's not rocket science. It's a huge project being undertaken and I automatically "assumed" there may be hiccups along the way to that "desired final goal".

When we service our car and get a courtesy one, do we throw the keys back at them because it's not the same as the one we gave in? No, we wait for the repair job to conclude and get our original car back. Just one of many analogies I can think of pertaining to our current situation. I know busy.org is not perfect, but AT LEAST we have an option available (and a functional one at that). Once everything is up and running again, do we think Ned and the team will get much praise for their efforts to make us all "happy" again? Of course not. Because many feel that Steemit has become our "right" as a collective and perhaps forget what life would have been like if Steemit had never been created in the first place. I'm sure we all know which path was the preferable one.

Things are happening in the background and I feel that just a little time and patience is required on our part before things return to how they ought to be. That's my humble opinion (which everybody should be entitled to) and regardless whether people agree or disagree with what I say, it's a plain fact that this approach is a much calmer, peaceful and reasoned one as opposed to pitch-forks and tantrums.

Again, awesome vlog as always, my brother! Look forward to more soon... :)

Though I do support your opinion. Since I am beginning to realize how much work goes into such a project. I will tell you that you present a very cult-like way of accepting anything that those at the helm present. This can be a positive to an extent.. As, to have faith is a good thing. It is to have strong belief. It maintains a support base for those who put in the work.

However, most who had issue, (which I was one of) weren't leading rioting squads and burning all things in sight.. they/we were simply voicing frustration at the lack of information trickling down to the regular use. The user who is at the forefront. The user who is essentially THE product. At times like these, when the system has issues. An optimistic mind can accept: OK, t's in beta. However when the user seeks info and there is none to be had from any angle. Then frustration rises and confidence drops. A state that then leaves the regular user wondering. Wondering leads to uninformed conclusion. Also, as many have stated.. the regular user simply walks away. Thus, this is not good for the longevity of such a place/service.

Coincidentally, it could be quite possible, that those noisy and info-demanding users where the very reason why there has now been a public announcement regarding the state of Steemit and what the road forward looks like. So.. while your point is valid.. you should sometimes stop and think.. and possibly thank, those who "throw the keys" at that service desk. Not for their actions, but for the change or chain of events they may initiate.

In turn, we all, are now informed.. both the doubtful and the faithful.
Though changes don't come over night.. the faithful simply hold fast.
The doubtful are mostly converted, and re-united with the collective.
Which.. after all.. COMMUNITY.. is what Steemit, is fundamentally about.
I know I personally, now have become optimistic and will keep silent my doubts.
So just like the service. There is always more to it, in the background.
When announcements and incremental updates like this occur.
It is the system improving. On many levels.

I appreciate your comment and hear you. I've a few things I'd like to add to that:

I will tell you that you present a very cult-like way of accepting anything that those at the helm present.

Cults persuade their members to stay of grounds such as charity, belief and control. None of the above apply to Steemit. We are all free to use it or leave. That's OUR prerogative, no one is forcing us to stay.

A state that then leaves the regular user wondering. Wondering leads to uninformed conclusion.

There comes a point where the hand-holding has to stop and common sense takes over. Most people on the platform are aware that busy.org is there as a viable alternative for the time being. And if any new users are in doubt, a few select questions should do. The friendly community would be more than happy to help, I'm sure.

Coincidentally, it could be quite possible, that those noisy and info-demanding users where the very reason why there has now been a public announcement regarding the state of Steemit and what the road forward looks like. So.. while your point is valid.. you should sometimes stop and think.. and possibly thank, those who "throw the keys" at that service desk. Not for their actions, but for the change or chain of events they may initiate.

Again, there were other functioning alternatives so it's not like we were all locked out of our accounts or anything. So you're saying if nobody kicked up a fuss we would be stuck like this in limbo for good, never being given any updates and having a poorly performing version of Steemit? Of course not. A response would eventually have been provided I'm sure. Just a little patience, that's it.

I dunno. Many I see things differently. But I kinda "assumed" there were issues and they would eventually be solved. And as luck would have it, that was exactly the case. I'm not saying people should not be able to voice their opinions (as I clearly stated in my comment) but simply implying that I believe "angry rants" get people nowhere. And I stick to that belief. Just expressing my views, nothing more. Anyways, I'm sure the Steemit Inc. team will not let similar issues like that go unaddressed for so long again.

You are broadening my use of 'cult-like' too much.
My use was simply for the blind-faith. Not the entire structure.
Not claiming you are blind with faith.
I just stated that complete acceptance borders on it.

Your other points treat new user as someone who has knowledge.
Majority of new users takes everything at face value.
Their attention span is minimal. Some might not even see the "beta".

I also did not say that the fussy made it possible.
I stated that it may have had a hand in info making it to public.

Also, patience comes from users who stay on belief.
I know steemit doesn't aim to keep everyone. Nor should it.
However mass adoption gives more potential for quality stayers.

Your view is valid. I did state this also.
I just presented a perspective from one who was pessimistic.
I'm not even a pessimist, more a realist, who questions.
I also see your belief in the team as a quality and asset.
No doubt they don't feel good when people nag and bag their work.
So equally, we both play a part I believe. It's progress.

Well, buddy. I'm the eternal optimist as my friends say. And if people are pessimistic by nature, then I guess they will act accordingly. We were all new users here once upon a time but just being new carries some burden of responsibility too. Remember, this world ain't the same one as Facebook, Instagram or any other 3rd party based development team from the past. This is the "blockchain era" where people have the choice to be empowered and liberated from all that. But this also comes with a caveat. The ability to be dynamic and open to change. There is no customer service number nor any intermediary to help reset a lost password in this eco-verse. That's the price we pay for enjoying the vast benefits of platforms such as Steemit. This is a platform meant for independent, forward thinking individuals. Part of that means shwowing some degree of tolerance and accepting the "bigger picture" for what it could potentially be.

We aren't subscribers to Steemit, merely people who wished to partake in an "experiment" in the hopes that it will lead to something much better in the future. If there is an issue with the platform, assume it is being dealt with without the need for it to be "directly expressed" as such. This is the train of thought I've adopted anyways and it's been working out great so far. I've been around here since almost the beginning of this platform. I remember a few days after Steemit first launched there was an attack on the system almost shutting down the whole website. Well, that turned out fine in the end but I knew a great team was behind the initial project. I wasn't worried then and I'm not worried now. Sometimes life doesn't deal the hand we always want.

Honestly, mate? People who aren't happy should either leave and return when Steemit is a more fully-fleshed out product or adopt a "be ready for anything" approach. My two cents worth and judging by the other comments made here, I'm not the only one thinking this way.

I'm just damn grateful that Steemit is even in existence to allow me the "chance" to earn in the first place. Hope you can see my point of view too, even if you don't necessarily agree with it.

I believe I made clear that I do see your point of view.. several times now. I believe you are not seen my view entirely though. You are, but have ambition to see me convert or align with your view. I already clarified that I am a realists. I do seek "the bigger picture". It is not all told within within the system. Some of it might not be aligned with what those within the system believe and some of it might also be incorrect. It is up to the individual seeking truth, to make that ultimate decision.

To make it easier, see me as neutrality. Specially as a pup here, and from the position of fresh start. It is a better position to hold, then to go all in on the first pair. You obviously are doing good, rewards wise, rightly so. As you stated, you've put in the work and have weathered the storm(s). It's a good benchmark for new blood. Not all get that result though.. even when deserving of it.. and the system does play a role in that. I'm not the only one thinking this way.

We should agree that we represent both ends of the spectrum.
Which is actually a very realistic assessment. Or else, this could drag on.

It's all good, man. Just different opinions is all.

(Just dropped by to visit your blog. I would definitely rethink my "starting" strategy if I were you, bro. Just trying to help you out here and offer up a few words of advice).

Granted.
Thank you.

The voting and posting are still not fixed but they are working better. It's nice to see the steemit team working hard to keep the platform developing and informing us about it. Like you said, it gives peace of mind

Just a few minutes ago I had a first glance at our new cool look and features! I LOVE IT! Pretty sure others love the fresh changes as well, awesomeness is what Steemit does! Really happy I found this place, and it's my pleasure promoting it!

nice post and video my friend, well same case with me, when i wake up today and i open steemit i also saw a whole new UI and man i am so glad to see a new steemit UI because it looks so beautiful and attractive, we can see the username and ratings a lot clearly and we can see a too direct links on the right side, our blog and our wallet, in previous UI this feature won't available but now it's easy for the new steemians to find them, now by clicking on top of the post we can zoom the post and able to read it's title more easily, so all in all this is fantastic development and i hope all steemians like it, Stay happy and awesome my friend and thanks for sharing.

you are in love with steemit haha even at night you check this like me haah by the way the new changes are really cool i just found out some very interesting one :)

@exyle,
Yeah dude we can't make everything in a single night! STEEMIT development team building the platform day by day! Hope they will fix ongoing issues too! Until that we have few alternatives to work on! And I like this UI experience too!

Cheers~

@exyle - Sir you are correct... While Steemit is in a trouble I also went to busy.org... Steemit dev team working on them & today they show us an improvement too... Future seems green & Steem On.... To get more audience, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

I like the new changes and am looking forward to further changes that will improve and make this platform so much better :)

It is working bether for me now.
It is good to see that the hard work that is being done is paying off.
Let's be positive!

the problems are there but seems like team is upto it to solve it slowly :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86