While the dinosaurs are standing at the Station we are at least on board the Steem Train and having fun too!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today was the Christmas dinner for the family.

My dad was invited too. (like last year).

I'm happy my dad and my mom's new husband get along fine after my dad managed to avoid meeting him for about 5 years.

It makes the life for the children about 10 times easier. I can tell you that.

No more constant questions of who am I going to invite to what party? and all that.

The food was perfect and eventually, the subject of crypto was touched.


IMG_8490.jpg

My niece Fee and me


My Dad and Brother are both finance guys.

They are the go-to people for investment advice.

And they are good at it in their own (dinosaur) way.

My dad, for instance, sold all his stock (against the bank advice ) before the crash of 2008. It's one of his favorites stories.

They are convinced crypto is a bubble and that it will pop.

They read this every day in the Dutch Financial Times.

I'm the opposite as you probably know. Although I do agree there are projects out there that are completely without merit and are still being bought.

But more and more often I no longer feel the need to convince others about the space.

(Not to be confused with teaching about the space.)

It just makes me tired.

Therefore I'm so happy that my own mom (@clio) is on board.

When everyone left she asked me to help her with something on Steemit.

I did.

She also showed me all the people she's following and the connections she made on the platform.


IMG_8491.jpg


Later when I talked to her husband he told me that she often sits behind the computer late at night leaving comments to other people.

She truly enjoys it.

This is just a huge plus for the Steem blockchain because I don't know anyone that send any crypto from A to B (like a lot of other projects) just because they enjoy it late at night.

I also saw she collected some SBD's in her wallet from her blogging efforts.

I asked her what she wanted to do with it.

"What do you recommend?"

She has invested thousands into Steem so I suggested she sent them to me so I could convert them to Euro for her.

Take some profit. Always.

She agreed.

That's what I did when I got home tonight. The money is still in transit but I already booked it to her account.

Talking about crypto becoming real :)

Bubble or not.

While the dinosaurs are standing at the Station we are at least on board the Steem Train and having fun too!

Merry Christmas!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

I have learned from my recent family and health class how children , the little ones, are impacted by the parents behavior and what not and how the parents should give a lot of love and support when they are young for emotional support because kids don’t know what’s going on and often blame themselves

seriously @exyle you are one of the most great seniors here on steemit who is promoting steemit and doing hard work for steemit !
Glad to see her also !

Therefore I'm so happy that my own mom (@clio) is on board.
When everyone left she asked me to help her with something on Steemit.
I did.

Excellent work this made me happy !

seems first-rate and could shop me time as a quite new member who’s nevertheless hooked on every interaction, and might prevent me from looking all of the time.

I Wont call cryptos a bubble but i see a big correction in the near future. As you mention there are many cryptos with out merit. Each and every day i see tens more ICOs which is not at all sustainable. But i have 100% faith in the blockchain technology. Few of the crypots are really good with some meaningful project under them and have a bright future but rest is just get rich scheme.

@exyle,
"While the dinosaurs are standing at the Station we are at least on board the Steem Train and having fun too!"
Well said friend! Yeah some of crypto projects are just bubbles, we can't say it's not. But STEEM is not a bubble, atleast we got a good project among thousands of Bubbles!
Nice to hear your Dad came to the party! It's a good example for time cure every pain!
Merry X'mas to all of you!

Cheers~

I agree with your brother and father that cryptocurrencies do appear to be a bubble but there is a difference. The price of these currencies will fluctuate - often wildly but it is because we are observing a change in technologies. When CD-Roms first entered the market they were around $5000. Families (in China) would buy many not because of speculation but what they represented. The CD-Roms meant an income flow and they started burning CD's for the pirate market. "Bitcoin" are the same thing, they are a new technology which are destined to change not only the way money works, but also the way that societies work.
Yes some of the major increase was due to Bitcoin Fever but also part of the increase is the recognition that it is an alternative. Ask your father if he believes the stock market will tank this year (it is within the last 3 years of the decade). Then ask him is the bond market is a good place to shift the money now. Finally ask if the commodity market is a good investment (it is in a longer range investment horizon). I think that more and more investors are dipping their toes in the cryptocurrency market as a desperation play in order to put their money into something that may have a potential. This is only a guess but I believe that Bitcoin will bounce one more time against the $12000ish support level and then resume its upward trajectory.
STEEM as an investment is totally different to Bitcoin. It is more than just a crypto ... it is "brainware". It is a community of over 500,000 exchanging ideas, goals and motivations. When the SMT technology drops, it will revolutionize a growing number of ways of communication.

I'm glad your dad came, It's so hard to be a child of parents who got divorced. I'm happy you got to hang out with him in Christmas, There's nothing more important than that.

I'm glad she can have fun and make money from it as well! My mother is bored as hell and I might show her Steemit, I don't know, You just inspired me and gave me a cool idea.
What's her account?

If she likes writing Steemit is not a bad place. Thank you for reminding to tag my mom's username. It's @clio.

followed her. thank you!

Hi! Merry Christmas to you. I'm pretty new here on steemit and I did this special articles for you kindly Check out and upvote please. I will also be glad to see your response. Thanks a million!
https://steemit.com/christmas/@basonrich/reach-out-now-now-is-the-time-20171224t223616623z
And
https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@basonrich/seven-keys-to-having-a-magical-christmas-ever-20171225t43634139z

Oh, yes, my friend, your judgment about dinosaurs is correct as ever, of course, each of us decides to join us on board, but I fully agree that if you do not make a decision, you can stay out of the way for the rest of your life! It's also nice to hear that a close person, that is, your mother, supports you in your decision and what she is very happy with together with us! Thank you @exyle for the positive and happy Christmas!

its really great to hear about your mom that she works on steemit and enjoy this platfarm and i feel good to know about her that u share with u sure i want to follow him that will be more good if u share her account name with us she look so pretty and really very happy with u i wish GOD give u more happines with ur family @exyle

MERRY CHRISTMASS U AGAIN EXYLE

and also its just funny that u against in work of ur brother and father and hope they joine crypto on day to see ur success or u joine them haha

"All aboard the steem train! destination moon. I hope you have a pleasant journey and make many friends along they way :)"
I can wait for the first person to plan the steem flag on the actual moon, it will be hilarious. Your mom is awesome btw. Cheers !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86