While youtube is getting worse, Dtube is getting better.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My friend Ben ( @bennierex) pointed me to a news article today (here). It's about youtube and the loss of income for content providers in the Netherlands. The article is in Dutch.


IMG_4020.jpg


Many YouTubers in the Netherlands are suffering more often from Youtube's policy to not show commercials with video's that Youtube considers "commercially unfriendly".

Users that create content for Youtube get their money from these commercials. So they are pretty vital for their income.

According to the article, Youtube uses a self-learning algorithm to decide which videos get blocked from showing commercials.

The problem is the algorithm doesn't always work. So video's that should pass don't pass. Leaving perfectly legit videos with no payment for the creator.

But of course, the worst part is content providers that have a large following but have a certain 'style' (swearing, nudity for instance) now are deprived of their income unless they change their ways.

The power to take away commercials on certain videos can also lead to censorship. Depriving someone of an income can do that.

From a Youtube perspective, this policy is understandable though. They are a company, they need to make a profit. If advertisers leave because Youtube shows commercials on the wrong videos. It's bad for business. Simple.

Here comes Dtube


Since I started making my vlogs I have uploaded a lot of Video's to Youtube and it works great. This is hard to deny.

Ever since Dtube was launched I tried to use it as much as I could. So, every time I make a vlog I try Dtube first.

I had days where it worked fine. I had days where it didn't work. On the malfunctioning days, I tried to give, as best as I could, feedback to the creators. They even put me in a subsection called Dtube Evangelists (lol! it makes me smile every time).

On Dtube you won't find any censorship regarding your own content. And I think it's a huge opportunity for anyone that feels himself out of place with Youtube's new policy.

But Dtube is still raw. It's not better than youtube yet. But it's slowly improving.

Only recently they added new changes to the upload (no more errors, so far) and they added a progress bar while uploading. Wich has been a blessing for me.


1.png

new progress bar


I believe more users are one way to make the Steem blockchain better and stronger.

I will use Dtube instead of Youtube as much as I can to showcase that it works and if Youtube keeps screwing it's userbase hopefully at some point some of them will come here.


Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

I will always watch on Dtube vs youtube now. I want to support Dtube first of all and it's become a matter of principle in avoiding youtube as much as possible with the way they're censoring content creators administering monetary sanctions. I really appreciate you going out of your way to post on Dtube. Some days it doesn't work, but you always try.

Dtube really has gotten much better from a viewing stand point also. There are some days where the video simply will not play or takes awhile to start. I don't mind waiting for a few minutes as I know they're brand new and are getting the kinks worked out. It all boils down to the fact of what do you want to support? Some huge, billion dollar, multi national conglomerate or individuals trying hard to put out honest, good content to try and scrape by? The choice is easy and hopefully more and more people start seeing it this way and shun youtube as much as possible.

Great post brother and you and Bianca have a great night!

Awesome comment man! Dtube is indeed getting better every time. I fully support them too. Thanks, you have a great day/night too!

It is crazy how strict YouTube is getting regarding their policies but it seems like it is something they have to do as they want to maximise their earnings from sponsors rather than caring about the creators on their platform.

I've seen people where when they upload a non-offence thumbnail their video gets demonetised so it seems like this algorithm they have in place isn't that great at detective valid content that applies to the policies and ones that break them.

I think that people should get into dtube. As steem grows and we gain millions of users people will intern start finding out about it while they browse steemit and many people will migrate to it from youtube

It is amazing to see how many tools have been built on top of the steemit blockchain. I can't wait to see what Zappl will be like. It will only get better and better as time goes on and I'm glad I could be a part of this journey early on.

It is astonishing how all of this is free for users but they can also monetise it without the consumer losing much.

Well I'm glad I was able to squeeze in some time to view one or your posts in a month. Crazy how you are able to keep making vlogs every day. I hope steemfat is going well @exyle! :)

Hey man, good to see you. Yeah, the development is crazy and only increasing! Steemfat, is going well, man!

DTube has a long way to go. Every other video doesn't play because "Mime type", although it could be a great alternative, especially since YouTube apparently gave in to its inner dissidents and shows now ads on much more content. That's great for creators, but I the viewer would rather send them a cent or two for something worth watching instead of waiting through the commercials.

I am not a big fan of making video. Dtube is cool. I have used it.
It is good to know that steemians have access to Dtube and no censorship too.
It opens doors for us that youtube is acting up.
Hey Let's hope Dtube run efficiently and
KEEP ON STEEMIT>

I guess YouTube's ruthless policies regarding profit sharing (even some other than the commercials thing you mentioned) are a blessing in disguise for decentralized platforms like Steemit blockchain and to be specific, for DTube. I'm sure a lot of traffic from YouTube, and serious talented people, are on their way to Steemit. I personally know a few who are already thinking of winding up their setup from YouTube and a couple other platforms and shifting it here. They're a big hit here locally in Pakistan. I will post a news once I get a confirmation from them.

Thanks for sharing

I just can't see paying 25% to an inferior product.

As far as I know, I'm not paying anything. I might earn a little less. Which I think is fair considering these guys are building a video service on top of the Steem blockchain that will make it a lot better.

Hi exile, in fact they are building a video service on top of ipfs and they are posting the content on steemit in behalve of you. while I like the idea I don't think Dtube will last that long as new technologies will arise that will make the development of a decentralised video service much easier and better. I mainly think about the upcoming EOS platform, I really believe that we will see many more decentralized youtubes and even more steemits in the near future. I don't want to spread bad karma, I'm just giving my 2 cents. I wish all the best to Dtube!

I think they need the money to make it better^^

Interestingly enough though...in their breakdown of where the money goes...0% goes to improvement.

Hello Evangelist, you just got one new convert, "me", lol. Thanks for the post. I have been using Dtube for like 2 weeks now, and i believe they are great and very responsive to suggestions. I will resteem this. Cheers!

nice post friend no doubt youtube is getting worse even i one of our fellow steemian got 2 community guideline strikes on his channel and he even don't know why he is getting those strikes and youtube team also won't tell the reason of a strike now one more strike and he will lose all of his important videos and channel permanently, it's harsh behavior by youtube, here is the post, youtube has to create win win enviroment both for creators and advertisers. and D-tube is no doubt a fantastic development for steemit and it's improving day by day the good thing is that now we can upload our steemit stuff without the involvement of third party and that's great, d-tube is still new but i hope it improves as the time passes on, have a very happy week ahead my friend, thanks for sharing

Fully agree. Sooner or later, with Yutuba, they will start leaving if they do not change. The person is always looking for where better. So that they have something to think about.

the person is always looking for where better.

Yes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97