Crypto Markets Driving You Mad? Stick on a Game and Zone Out...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I need a break. Or more like, something else to put my focus on. I'm done watching movies and television shows. Especially after the horrid aftertaste that the last season of GoT left behind. So I thought why not turn the clock back and play a select few video game gems from yesteryear that I never got around to playing, for one reason or another. Getting lost in a fictional game world and actual having some fun? Where do I sign up, lol. So after flicking through some classics of old, I found the perfect title. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past...

fea-video-gam-controller.jpg

Fine, I know I'm late to the party. But better late than never, as they say. I started playing last night in the wee small hours of the night. Well, 11pm to be more precise. Before I knew it, hours had flown by and I was immersed in the intriguing lore, the cool characters and overall virtual world. I tell you, games back then were like works of fine art. Remember, a game on the SNES was usually around one megabyte of data in total! That's a 3.5 floppy disk, if anyone even knows what that is anymore! An astounding achievement compared to today where "gigs" are scattered about the place like confetti.

But yeah, diverting attentions away from stuff that causes stress and migraines to reliving a timeless and carefree period of your life, once more. Another great thing about games of old is that they were "the" whole game. No DLC's or micro transaction nonsense of the modern, money-hungry era of today. Look at Final Fantasy VII, for example. The new game looks astounding and offers graphics so good they make your eyes water. But then you soon discover that it'll be episodic in nature. So expect Square Enix to milk that cow drier than a McVities Tea Biscuit buried in the Sahara. You be better off playing the original and bugging out on all that awesome nostalgic excellence.

So yeah, I finally get to play a classic game I've always wanted to at a time when I could really use it. The missus is upstairs binging out on Love Island so, from my perspectives, that's killing two birds with one stone. She's busy in that horror show whilst I'm content doing my own thing. Hope this title is long though. Come to think of it, I never did check how long this game takes the average gamer to complete.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You shouldn't let GoT ruin TV Shows for you, there's a bunch of other good stuff out there.

But, nothing wrong with some good ol' retrogaming. I'm actually a bit jealous, the only Zelda I've ever played is the one on the first Game Boy. As a hardcore PC player, Zelda is one of those sagas that I've had to give up, and there's a couple chapters out there that I'd really like to try.

Uh, and I'm glad I'm not the only one that hated that Final Fantasy VII trailer. I don't have anything against Square Enix, nor do I hate reboot as a matter of principle (I actually liked the Tomb Raider reboot, and its sequels) but I really don't think I'll try that one.

Nice to see we're on the same page here. I'm also a PC gamer through and through. Hence why I missed out on a few classic titles on other machines. Too much "Street Fighter 2" and "Doom" at the time. :)

And in terms of TV, I actually recently watched "Chernobyl". Amazing series, totally forgot about that one.

Not too much "street fighter" for me, but a hell of a lot of Dune 2 and Transport Tycoon. And shooters, all of them!

Chernobyl is definitely on my list. I'm waiting for a good opportunity to watch it, although it might take some time. These days, when I find the time to watch a series I want it to be light and carefree, you know?

I remember the thrill of learning the Downthrust

I spent hours/days/weeks playing the Zelda and Link campaigns.

Ain't come across that move yet. Looks like it's gonna be upgrade city soon. :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 9.16% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I am enjoying some NES classics myself these days! Tried to play some Zelda but the 8 bit graphics were a little too much to handle that long; but I did beat Mr. Dream (Mike Tyson) on Punch Out again after 30 years!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63