My Initial Thoughts on Ned's Announcement a Few Hours Ago...

in #life5 years ago

I don't think anybody saw that coming. I mean, we've barely finished up with Steemfest and then we had "The Bridge" sessions not too long back, so what gives? Everything was apparently running like clockwork behind the scenes at Steemit Inc. you'd think. Well, everybody knows the answer to that right about now. And the community reacted pretty much the same way I thought it would. The two distinct camps from before, who've seemingly already made up their minds about our platform and blockchain, said what was expected. No change there. But for what it's worth, here's what I'm taking away from it, considering the short amount of time I've had to digest the info.

steem.png

For now anyways, Steem and Steemit is the best case scenario. I mean for the foreseeable future or until we get more information to go off, anyways. SMT's and everything related have been shelved. I know some people are still holding out hope for this final vision of an eco-system that Ned promised, but judging from the video and his overall demeanour, this is gone bye bye for now. It's all about sustaining what has previously been built in addition to waiting out the rest of this horrendous crypto winter.

Another thing a little concerning for me at present, is the message that's been sent out from last night. In other words, is this a blockchain that would seem attractive to potential third party developers? With a few competitive options already on the table for their choosing, I would hate to think they'd go elsewhere to base their operations. But then again, that's assuming other alternative blockchains aren't going through similar kinds of struggles that we are. However, given that some competitors in the space already have a huge financial budgetary advantage over us, it's disconcerting, to say the least.

The problem is, as I mentioned, there's not much information to go on, apart from the announcement itself. Like how bad the financial situation actually is? Ned made some proposals that work as a band-aid for the time being, but one thing is pretty clear to me. Maybe it always has been. And that's in the end, the responsibility and maintenance of the blockchain will ultimately lie with the community as a whole. It's just that the blockchain itself is not quite there yet technology-wise, for that implementation to work effectively. Development in the tweaking of it's code and variables, are paramount at present, before we can even "think" about any type of collective automation of processes. Again, theses are just my personal thoughts on the matter.

I must say that I'm also quite taken aback to discover that there seems to have been no substantial protective financial buffer set in place to cover the costs of running operations down at HQ. At the height of the crypto market prices near the beginning of the year, that was a golden time to take care of this. But I suppose "price bottoms" were assumed and plans co-ordinated to that effect. But this is crypto, where fluctuations in the market are on such a volatile scale that literally "anything" is possible, as we can clearly see. Oh well, I'm just making an observation. No use retreading old ground. What's done is done.

So, going forward from here? Well, it's a collaborative effort, of course. All hands on deck, as it were. As I can't ascertain "how" bad things are, having Steemit functioning as it always has been, is good enough for me regarding the immediate future. I'm also praying those incredible development project teams that are already doing their thing using the Steem blockchain, continue to do so until some sort of resolution is formulated. I really hope this is just another "hiccup" in the history of Steem, albeit a much larger one than we'd have wished for.


Sort:  

The most irritating thing for me is the fact that an opportunity was missed at SteemFest to lay the card on the table and get some kind of team effort brainstorming thing going. I did suspect something wasn't quite right after the answer Ned gave to Andrew's "Steem in five years" question. I didn't get the confident, definitive answer I was expecting.

Yes, I agree. This wasn't an issue that magically manifested over the last three weeks or so, since Steemfest. Not sure how much help we would have been able to offer but at least the option would have been there.

yes, i agreed with that statement.

I think ned is simple reacting to the freefall of price. I do not think the top guns at HQ considered this a possibility that the price of steem would drop this low in a short time and it is clear no preparation was made to react to this current crisis which had hit the crypto market so hard. I think a lot can still change and the launching of SMTs cannot be totally ruled out. Let's see how things play out in the coming weeks or months. This indeed is an emotional roller coaster.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's gonna be a tough ride, man. And yeah, I'm hoping the poor financial budgetary planning on the part of Steemit Inc. are not as disastrous as they appear to be. Time will tell and I guess stranger things have happened...

It was a bit shocking and the cut seems alot.
The steemit site has also been rather slow of late.

More than a little worrying. But at the very least, it's out in the open and discussions can now take place.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

craziness......

Absolutely, buddy.

Everything was apparently running like clockwork behind the scenes at Steemit Inc. you'd think.

That's their problem in a nutshell, it basically boils down to a blind shepherding approach on their part. It has been very frustrating.

I must say that I'm also quite taken aback to discover that there seems to have been no substantial protective financial buffer set in place to cover the costs of running operations down at HQ.

Yes it's literally unbelievable, I do not believe it, not fully anyway. True to form there's some other aspect here. I'm not talking about a conspiracy, just that there are a few other cards somewhere, not at the table.

Well, it's yet more guesswork on our part, buddy. I'm just hoping we get those critical answers unveiled within the upcoming weeks. Let's see...

Just don't hold your breath.

You see. What we have smelled for a while was right. Our intuition was giving correct hints. Especially after last SF.

(damn, I used SC account to comment accidentally haha :P )

Yep... Looking back, there were some clues, man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87