This World Cup is Officially Dubbed "Championship of the Underdogs"

in #life6 years ago

brazil-v-iraq-mens-football-olympics-day-2-587152772-57ab1d18cd978.jpg

Breaking news. London is burning. Yes, a few degrees higher in temperature and I'm sure people and small animals are gonna start catching fire. So, the only reprieve from basking in a cesspool of perspiration and steam for us Brits? Watching more of the goddamn World Cup quarter finals, what else!

Like the last time, today we had an average match and a great one. The former being the "average" one. Uruguay vs France had it's moments, but overall the better team won out. In fact, a few posts ago I made a prediction citing France as this tournament's champions. And they've yet to disappoint. With a decisive win over Uruguay of 2-0, they are the ones to beat. From my perspective, anyways. But the major news of the day lay with the next match.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, Brazil are officially out of the World Cup. And in spectacular fashion. After giving away a needless own goal in the first half, followed up by a stonking shot into the back of the net by Belgian striker Kevin De Bruyne, their World Cup campaign seemed as good as over. Which is a crying shame as I thought they showed signs of brilliance. The problem being? Only after the 75th minute of the match! Yes, a lacklustre performance all round and going into the second half. Not to forget some ridiculous on-pitch antics by Brazilian legend Neymar whose rolling on the ground almost warranted him a yellow card. But after substitute Renato Augusto scored an unbelievable header into the corner of the net, Brazil's spirits lifted once more.

And I'll be totally honest. I thought in that 15 minutes of time left that Brazil would easily get the second goal. Possession of the ball was solely with them for almost the remainder of the game. But after missing two of the easiest "gifts" presented to them in front of the net, their play stumbled again. I was somewhat deflated as Brazil has always been a team I've revered for many years. So sad to see them go home, but alas, Belgium did just enough to see out the win. Credit where credit is due. But good for us in that we got to witness a real nail-biter of a match.

Now, on to tomorrow. All I'm hearing on the television is "Can England win? Can England make it through to the semi's?". I'm pretty tired of hearing the same record now. Let's just wait and see, shall we? If ever they had a shot at going far in the World Cup tournament, now is the time to prove themselves. But as I say, the competition will only get much tougher from here, especially going into those semi-finals. Can they beat Sweden? Maybe, maybe not.

We'll just have to wait and find out... :)


PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

I haven't bet on sports in almost two years and decided to make a little parley for the world cup, I had Spain and Brazil playing in the final match. Both got eliminated by huge underdogs.

This is exactly why I stopped betting on sports, It's way to unpredictable. The Brazil-Belgium game could've easily went in Brazil's favor. Some times it's not just who is the more talented team but who wants it more and who can capitalize on those lucky moments.

I don't know if you're familiar with American football but super bowl 42 was played by "the greatest team ever" the 2007 Patriots who were undefeated that season and scored more points than any other team in the history of the NFL. They played against the NY Giants, who barely made it into the playoffs and were underdogs by 14 points, which is the second biggest spread in super bowl history. The Giants held the highest scoring team to only 14 points and on the game winning drive David Tyree (a 3rd string wide receiver) caught a 40 yard pass off his helmet and the Giants scored the game winning TD two plays later.

It's luck and determination.

Watching this play still gives me goosebumps.

david tyree catch.jpg

Just by your description alone, I'd love to watch that playoff! And I agree with you about "heart" being a factor in winning or losing a match... :)

I'm team Belgium anyway. So happy most of the big guns are gone. My only problem now is France, England is not really a problem.

Reading my mind, bud. :)

Guess its true that great minds thinks alike... BOSS

So cool Belgium won. That is great. The final game Belgium VS England. Final Score Belgium 4 England 1. Just a guess.

Belgium are certainly doing great. I'm sticking with France for now, but as the title says, anything is possible from here on in.

Already missing Italy and Holland in the beginning. Then Germans gone and now Brazilians. England may be on to something.

They're on to something now, buddy. :)

I have to find a new team to support after Brazil is sent home :-)

In defense of the Uruguayans, the absence of Cavani on the field helped out the French quite a bit. It would have been a different game if Cavani was playing.

Sure, Cavani not playing along side Suarez may have been an issue, but who's to say who would have won out? Guess we'll never know now for sure...

Maybe next World Cup! :-)

It is so painful, seeing Brazilian team out of the tournament though they tried there best but it wasn't enough as Belgium outplayed them. Germany slumped to defeat in group stage, Argentina; round of 16 and here is Brazil now out of World Cup in quater final. Haha

As I say, "The Championship of the Underdogs"... :)

I'm still waiting for you all to call the sport by its proper name: soccer.

I kid, I kid. XD I think I'm going to follow the World Cup next time. I remember going to one of the games when I was a kid and my father was much more interested in it, and I got wrapped up in it. Of course Romania was playing that year, and I've no idea how they've done since then.

Wow! Lucky you, my friend. Would love to attend a real life World Cup game.

Wow! Lucky you, my
Friend. Would love to attend a
Real life World Cup game.

                 - ezzy


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

must be england at semifinal, this world cup full of surprises, hahhaa, I bet that will be the champion must be frence or england

My money is firmly on France. That Mbappe is insanely good. :)

good choose, hahha :)

You really can't say we stole the game... We were the better Team and we deserve to go through, that is what sports is all about! We Are Belgium!

pele23 is saying "We Are Belgium"? Lol... :)

Well, let's say Pele wouldn't roll over the pitch like a shot duck... And yes Pele is my idol... I'm sorry if that hurts you... Football is about scoring goals and defending as a team... Pele and Belgium know that! Cheers

Lol, Pele "is" a legend for sure but a proper footballer. But what I meant was, given your username, I assumed you'd be a Brazil supporter.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97