Alone at home for 3 months: The power of friends.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemians!?

1.jpg

So a lot has been going on since my last post, I just caught a pretty annoying cold, had a hair cut, sleeping very late is back on, my phone bricked, and oh, I'm having to deal with my fiancée leaving for a dentist course in Brazil for three frigging months!

I must say, I wasn't looking forward to the weekend alone as I was feeling quite down from the latest shock of coming home to an empty house. At least the suffering is for a good cause and Camilla will be able to accelerate her ratification of her diploma in the Netherlands, and it should all pay off in the end when shes working full time dentist and enjoying the career she truly deserves. So all that's left for me to do is support her 110% and make sure she is back as soon as possible and ready to face any challenge!

As for my weekend, it began with a little me time, and buying three Barrel Aged Beers at World of Drinks, as per usual, when the bois asked me who I was drinking those beers with, all I had to say was this:

millhouse.gif

Shortly after I get a call from @exyle to hang out at his place and do some of the usual activities of drinking beer and grilling some meat, so you can imagine that I would not pass that opportunity, and so I went and too with my the three BA beers, the Many-Faced GOT from Jopen, the Pohjala Imperial Stout Whisky BA and the Tommy Double-Barrel from Kompaan.

2.jpg

Now, I won't go into detail about how these beers tasted, because in all fairness I was in a "no-fucks-given" mood about everything in general, so I took the time to just enjoy these beers to the fullest without actually recording any descriptions about them. But from my mind I can recall well that I most preferred the Pohjala for its heavy body and most presence of the barrel aromas, but they were all great beers for sure, special consideration given to the Tommy as it cost about 35% less than the other beers, now that's a good deal on a BA!

4.jpg

Now as for the Many-Faced GOT, I had to do some research on this thing to try to understand where this weird name came from, and Jopen didn't disappoint! It turns out this is their interpretation of a Gotland Dricka - A farmhouse Ale from the island of Gotland in Sweden. As for the Many-Faced, this is a reference to Game of Thrones and the Many Faced God, and the blocks in the label make several references to the series, just awesome!

As the beers went in the feeling of sadness was slowly dissipating and I ended up having an great time! So great that I was invited to stay over for the night, which I most certainly accepted!

Next day we went to a very very awesome market Hanos, where every chef and fat person's dreams come true. We spent only 2.5 hours as it closed really early, 3PM, but enough time to get us a 2.5kg piece of pork belly to prepare some burned ends, which @exyle covered extensively in his blog. As for me, my highest point in the market was witnessing 3 live giant King Crabs inside a tank, look at these monsters!

3.jpg

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love to cook, and looking at these beautiful crabs made me have dreams at night, if only they weren't so damn expensive. But now that I know where to buy them (live, no less), I can plan ahead for a very special dinner with Camilla to include King Crab as the main attraction, perhaps when she's back from her trip? We'll see. All I know is that a great weekend at a friend's house (and this visit to Hanos) really made me feel better and took my mind to fun places, so I'm quite happy to be surrounded by great people like that. A lot of times friends make all the difference.

Cheers and good night!

1.jpg

Sort:  

When you have good friends like @exyle then those three months will pass by like nothing! It's hard as you said, but all for a good cause. We might be in that situation in the summer as Becca might need to go back to Portugal for a few months to sort out getting a Portuguese passport as she lived in Portugal for 18 years of her life, but there was no need for a Portuguese one as she relied on the British passport...but circumstances have changed as you know and better to be safe than sorry. Can't imagine not being able to live in a place you call home. Brexit's stance on free movement hasn't been finalised, but better not take the risk.
Anyway, take care of yourself and although it's not the same, you can talk to Camilla everyday on the phone 😊

Yeah Brexit has changed everything and I think you are right to pursue that passport because as far as I understand the free movement with UK will only last by 2021, then its back to Visas. Really sad when you think about it, this will be the worst part of it. But hey, at least you will get to enjoy a good time in Portugal which is simply an amazing country! Over here I will do my best to make use of the extra time by working harder, spending time with friends and posting more on steemit hehe.

Whether it's 1st f April 2019 or sometime in 2021, it's best to apply for it sooner rather than later. It is really sad and even more so for Sam, who will be bitterly disappointed as he loves Europe and yet trips will be hampered by multiple visas. He has a British and Thai passport. Now the British passport won't be handy as before.
Portugal is an amazing country and you must love it there (if you have been) as you can speak Portuguese.
Great plans to occupy your time and your mind! See you around on Steemit! 😊

Thanks for a cool weekend man!

Yes it was, let's keep it up and next time at my place and let's try to get the bois there too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64802.57
ETH 2975.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69