I Donated $1300+ Of My Income Earned On Steemit Last Month and This is My Mid-2017 Donation Update!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking of writing this post for a while now and highlight some of the donations made over the past month. I hadn't received the receipts for donations made and had to wait a bit longer than expected. In the past year I've played a small part in helping the society around me which you can read in the following posts.

  1. Starting 2017 with a Bang by Bringing Joy to HIV Positive Kids!
  2. Paying It Forward: Quick Recap of Few Good Things Done Right in 2016!

Due to my accident in feb, I wasn't able to keep up my regular monthly donations to select charities and organizations that I've been supporting from a while. Some of these organizations have a proven track record of living up to their name and even if I'm unable to directly volunteer my time, I feel I should atleast make a small donation and help them out whenever I can, and whatever amount I can afford to spare.

By any standards $1300+ is a lot of money to give away especially if you are in India. But, I'm happy that I am in a position to do so, courtesy Steemit and it's awesome community which is enabling all of this! I'm glad to be doing my part that's all!

Since we're on the subject, i'm also donating 100% of the SBDs from this post to @steemfest @t-r-f account as I commit to helping more users make it to Lisbon for SteemFest 2017. Steem Power will go towards adding to my donations for the period July to December 2017 which I will post about in January 2018.

If you remember, I had made a post to raise donations a month ago and I've utilized it in the following ways.

#1 @darthnava Steemit User

Our Steemit friend @darthnava is undergoing some serious medical procedures. I felt I should pitch in as well and donated 40% of the earnings from my post towards his recovery.

#2 @t-r-f SteemFest

I donated 30% towards SteemFest's Travel Reimbursement Fund. Click the link to learn more about TRF and how it works.

#3 Snehadeep NGO for HIV Kids, Mangalore

Your donations in the past towards this NGO in my city (that takes care of orphaned kids with HIV) has made a positive difference to their lives. Therefore, I decided to make another donation to the same organization last month as they were under budgeted and could have done with a little extra. You can read about the organization from my previous post here.

I added the balance 30% from my post + @djdmc's donation of 40 Steem + a little extra and made a donation of INR 22,000.

#4 Dharamshala Animal Rescue, Dharamshala

These are top guys when it comes to animal rescue + treatment in the foothills of the Himalaya. I've a history with them when I rescued an injured puppy and drove it hundreds of kms to reach these guys few years ago. I'll write about this rescue in another post. They are doing a great job in a location where there's nothing for suffering animals.

#5 Bird Helpline Mumbai

They are one of the best NGOs that take care of injured and abused animals in and around Mumbai, one of the biggest cities in India. Their founder, Salim is incredibly dedicated to this task and I've followed their work for years.

#6 Animal Care Trust, Mangalore

Another excellent animal rescue and rehab organization situated in my city. They've been around for a long time and my friends and I have done activities with them before and this time I felt I should donate some towards their cause.

You are welcome to do your due diligence and donate to them if you want.

Money in any form is useless if it cannot help you or someone who really needs it to improve their life.

I welcome you to read my posts to understand how and why I go about things the way I do.

  1. Let's Talk—Importance of Being Charitable from a Young Age!
  2. Let's Talk—A Realistic Take On What Can Money Do For You and Me!

This was possible due to your support by way of encouragement and upvotes, so I thank you all! :)


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Talk—The Importance of Doing Absolutely Nothing and Taking a Break!
  2. Dummies Guide to Basic Steemit Account Security + Account Recovery Guide! Must Read For Steemit Users!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Incredible. You're an inspiration to us all and hopefully your gestures will help many people in the community there!

Please follow me bro ineed help

You don't need help, bro.

You only make yourself weaker than you really are by thinking and saying things like that, so STOP IT! Seriously.

You gave him 5bucks hahahaha!

Yeah, life's weird, ain't it...LOL.

Of course, it has a lot to do with irrational beings like myself wandering around and interacting with you "normal" folks ;)

Wooo you upvoted me as well hahahah!
This is the highest reward I got so far!
Never tought to do it joking!
Appreciate and I 'll start follow you!
You can do the same if you like!👊

Hahaha how in the world does this work? Random comments that get $5 :D

@jamesbrown, after a comment like this, the chance for not following you is about zero.

Forgive me i am new platform now, so i thought that by doing such a few comment i would get follower but i am wrong..
I will do hard work
Thank you explained me
Now I will never make such a mistake again

Again sorry for that @jamesbrown

No need for apologies, bro. It was an honest mistake, I know that.

My only intention with that comment was to point out the truth that success, in anything really, comes down to the right frame of mind.

If you want followers, act like you deserve them. Real leaders don't go around begging for followers. They KNOW that they deserve them based on what they provide (they value themselves enough to expect followers to join in by simply doing what they do).

Believe in yourself and you'll go far.

Right brother thankyu so much

Just curious as to why you upvoted a comment when you are asking him to stop asking for followers @jamesbrown

Charity and teaching!

Wow fire on power! Man i love you :) @firepower! Hopefully see u in Lisboa. U can be proud of what u are doing man - not many out there acting in this responsible way ..! I adore your actions dude! Go ahead and hopefully other will join your direction. <3

@cass thank you so much! Yes I will be there at Lisbon for sure! I'm hoping to see you there again! It was great hanging out with you the last time and will never forget the Burrito place you took us. Thank you so much for your support and kind words! :)

Hi, Welcome to Steemit.
I can Follow You.
You can follow me @elmenteloca

Yes indeed! Always awesome to see stuff like this @firepower really awesome to see donations like this that actualy get to poor people, thanks for sharing all the good vibes, hopefully I will be able to donate off monthly steem also :) #keepsteemin

Hi @cass. I messaged you about asking permit to use your work. Can you check slack or skype?

You are another nice person I have seen here. Always looking for how to uplift others. Keep it up!!!

Hi, Welcome to Steemit.
I can Follow You.
You can follow me @elmenteloca

Nice article @firepower
Please follow me and vote

your a G for getting a $10 comment @donkeypong ! you are a serious force on the internet! heres a 10 cent 100 percent upvote!

u realize we will have 100 million users by next year? currents steem millionaires will be billionaires! we will have ALOT of money so dream big!

anyone with an idea will have money to hire developers! oh shit we will have to organize alt of new money minnows! minnows will become dolphins! we will have alot of newly minted hundred thousandaires....we need to train our minnows about how to NOW blow their money how to live frugally how to get like a trailer and solar panels to save money lol we need to really need to hold free steem seminars

After reading this post, I have already decided I want to follow you! You my friend are spot on with your predictions! BIG THINGS COMING!

Hi, Welcome to Steemit.
I can Follow You.
You can follow me @elmenteloca

Excelente, ese es el trabajo del ser humano, no quitar la vida, sino dar para ayudar a sostener la vida de aquellos que no tienen como hacerlo. Que Dios te siga bendiciendo por siempre

Those who don't understand Spanish here is the translation of what @ceauvalh commented-
Excellent, that is the work of the human being, not to take life, but to give to help sustain the lives of those who can not do it. God bless you forever

meep

Thanks for translating my message gracias por traducir mi mensaje

@donkeypong i agree with you

@firepower I really like this donation, I am very proud if anyone is willing to share money for others, very noble your actions

Please visit also my blog, there is my writing about the best food

Https://steemit.com/food/@imamaii/omg-my-favorite-food-is-number-1-in-world-s-50-best-foods

great post very good post keep up the great work. Hopefully, Steem and Bitcoin will come back strong so we can all afford to help others in our local communinty and in return here is a Bitcoin poem to soothe those nerves and anxieties. The feedback has been very good so far, some even saying it brought a tear to their eye :}

T:)https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@arthur-schopen/30-bitcoin-i-penned-a-poem-for-you-it-s-my-first-poem-ever-so-be-gentle-haha

Hi, Welcome to Steemit.
I can Follow You.
You can follow me @elmenteloca

This is Awesome! Keep it up buddy!

You are absolutely right @donkeypong. I wish everyone should get inspired by @firepower's soft heart towards the needy. I also strongly believe that we have two hands - one for ourselves and one for helping others.

Great job! @SCILWA is a non-profit organization that teaches independent living skills to the disabled, among other things. I got our director to get us on Steemit. . We just started yesterday, although i have been on since Spring (@r2cornell). I donated some steem to get @SCILWA started. Glad to see the work you are doing....

Thank you. I am in the process of getting our director up to speed. I have some ideas for an introduction post where we can outline what our organization is all about.

We have had two poor directors and even board of directors during their tenure that ran the organization into the ground. Our new director has provided us with hope that we will continue with our valuable services. I appreciate your response.

Will check out your posts. Steemit is a great place for NP and charities to share their message and get some much needed support.

May God bless you always.... Proud of you my son, @firepower.....

God doesn't actually promote giving to charity and bragging about it afterwards (Matthew 6:1-4). But I guess it's still better than not giving to charity?

Meghan Naik....huge respect for all of this bro. I don't see anyone donating such a big amount these days. Especially if they have gone through a financial crunch, serious medical injury and working day and night now. God bless you bro.

Thank you bro! :) I hope more will do this.

Thank you for helping me, dear Mr. Steemit Witness and Whale. God Bless you for your generosity. I'm gonna vote you as witness now. My regrettable mistake is that I should have done that a few months before.

You're a role model for many people in the world, Meghan, not only on steemit. I'm truly happy that we've met here :)

Thank you so much! Looking forward to the real meet at SF2 :)

Hehe, me tooooo! :)

These small gestures of yours make you who you really are. ( no matter what I say :P )
You are such an inspiration to everybody here and very helpful too! Keep up the good work, Meghan :)

haha! Thanks :D

@firepower that is such a nice thing that you shear the money with people. It so great to see someone doing charity and spreading happiness all around. Am a fan of you and am already following you. I too take an inspiration from your donation post and after attaining some growth over @steemit i too think of doing some donations to needy. U are great man @firepower.
Thank you and have a nice day
@naseerbhat

An incredibly good guy. Keep it up. It is nice to know how the survival of mankind is important to you. It is always fun to be counted amongst the builders and not the destroyer.

Thanks dude! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64290.64
ETH 3155.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86