Spent The Weekend With Some Amazing Friends From My Childhood!

in #life6 years ago

Recently, I celebrated my 30th and in this picture below I have friends whom I've known for 26 long years. Some of us here are friends from since we were just 4 years old! This weekend was amazing because I spent it with them and I have more memories with some of the best people in my life.

A couple of people in the picture joined my class a little later but we've been through thick and thin together at school. Every time we have a get-together there's some new stories to share and many old ones to recollect. My weekend was all about this. Some of us hit our 30th this year and some will do in matter of weeks and months.

The guy in the blue shirt above me is one of my closest friends. We've had this dream of being self-employed or an entrepreneur towards the latter half of our college life. Somewhere deep inside we wanted to do things differently. We know we'd face a lot of obstacles doing it but we never gave up trying to do what we believe in.

It was my dream to be able to work out of anyplace and have the flexibility of living like a digital nomad if I choose to and he wanted to start his own small-medium scale industry. Yesterday, he and I raised a toast to living our dream. It took us both many years of hardship to get this far and it takes a lot of work everyday to do the things we want to do.

But I think it's great that we've been able to do it. To live a life on our terms is a privilege and it takes a lot of hard work and effort to be able to do it the way you want to! You have to learn to accept failures along with the successful moments. I think we've gotten around to understanding this aspect of our lives which has gotten us this far.

My little group of friends from school come from different professional and personal backgrounds. Suffice to say, we weren't born with a silver spoon but we worked our way up in this world.

Professionally, one is an engineer, someone else an IT professional working for a top firm. Two are self-employed including myself, two are home makers who also manage a family business and we also have a banker/photographer amongst us.

Another one of my close friends from school is an urban planner but she's in Singapore and couldn't be with us on this meet. But i'll resume my travel-logs soon and you'll get to read my stories traveling with her in Singapore soon. I left it half way when I reached Lisbon, for Steemfest 2017 and never managed the time after that to go through the pics and write up my logs.

Anyways, back in school we'd never have imagined that we'd stay connected after all these years. Infact, when we left school there was no social media. Orkut was just getting popular in India and we didn't have a mobile phone. Some of us didn't even have a computer at home. We used to call each other up on landlines to plan anything or just land up at the house to meet.

Overtime, we moved cities because of college and work life and it took a few years of gap before things settled down enough for us to get back to each other and make effort to meet on a regular basis. Technology made it easier, more than ever before to stay connected. Like everyone else, we have our Whatsapp group now and it's easy to plan now. Facebook helps us stay updated as well.

It's important to have friends and I'm lucky to have a few whom I can trust completely with just about anything from my life.

Personally, my best memories from growing up are filled some of the people in these pictures. My school days were just awesome and it's great to have these people in my life as time goes on. They seem to have tagged along permanently for this amazing journey through life and I'm grateful for their company!

If you have such friends I'd love to hear your stories and see any pictures you want to share in a post or comment. If you write a post, feel free to link me up in the comments below.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Steem.Chat Contest #24
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Cryptocurrency India: An Update Regarding Reserve Bank's Ban & Link To Petition!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

This picture was clicked during the marriage function of the guy in the middle receiving the kisses from us. :') I love my friends @firepower. They are my strength and as you mentioned we are lucky to have each other. :-D We can do all sorts of crazy things with them without being judged, right? :-P Great pictures you have shared there!

Steem Blockchain - No censorship! 🤣

Lmfao xD

It's too cheeky, right? :-P

hahaha no its cute xD

Haha. Thanks. :-D

hhahahah awesome yaariyan e kmm auniya hmesha

hahahaha. Man. Gotta love India

Haha. Yes @nomadicsoul. We are lovely folks. Full of passion in whatever we do :-P

It is great to still have friends from childhood. Envy you.

Congratulation! I wish were you right now. Having a house filled with friends of which you've known for a long time is a great achievement if you ask me.

Here's the only friends I've had since my childhood

i also have one friend since we are in first grade to final year of clg

Happy 30th birthday to you in arias

Its good to have old friends around to share long term memories and feel free to each other. I'm not lucky to have close long time friends just like you cos we do change environments where we live,even I do change schools ,only the ones I got is at college FB_IMG_15251216697524488.jpg

A friend like no other. she's very calm, cool and collected in all dimension. She's indeed a more lively friend person that one can relate with at all time. Im glad to be friends with her.@firepower

![IMG-20180413-WA0023.jpg]
()

Happy birthday with a bit of delay. I love it when I see that true friendship survives over time. Currently I am visiting my Bffe in Dubai (she lives here for two years) and we known each other since we are six years old. True friendship knows no distance. IMG_1097.PNG

Always good to catch up friends, bringing out the fun old memories. Technology has brought us closer and can easily reach out to one another
27781724_10213145690910139_1239721322_n.jpg
the guy with me is an old friend who introduced me to steemit. Last saw him 2 years ago before meeting him this year

What a wonderful story of long term connections and success. I know that this is no small feat to accomplish and a digital nomad life sounds amazing!
So true:

It's important to have friends and I'm lucky to have a few whom I can trust completely with just about anything from my life.

This is really amazing and I can totally relate to all you have said. So many stories all in one picture and I am glad you are still living the dream.

Glad you worked your way up and you really deserve the accolades.

I have lot of friends growing up too and I know what we have gone through to be here today. Challenges make our stories all the more better, because in those dark moments, so we really understand what friendship means. Glad you guys have reconnected and shared stories and laughs. Well done brother...keep living the dream.

Friendship is forever. Age never grows in the relationship of friendship. You guys proved it again. All the pictures are so nice. Thanks for sharing a nice story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55