Diary of A Funny Expat in Jeddah (1)

in #life7 years ago

Exactly two years ago, I arrived in Jeddah, it is my first time in Saudi Arabia, I did not have high expectations, and I knew more or less what I will be going through, but many things which I still remember and laugh on.

Background,

Jeddah is a small city, comparing to my home city, you can drive from north to south in no traffic in less than 30 minutes.

I believe it is the second largest city in Saudi Arabia, it is a commercial city, on the red sea, and almost 70KM from Mekkah, making it the hub for people going to Hajj or Umrah.

On the next articles, I will just share the funny and awkward situations I have been through. But let me start with one of the most famous words

(Absher)

Although I am an Arabic native, but I don't actually know what is the exact translation of Absher, I believe it means "be optimistic", Absher is being said when you asked someone for anything, can I have my ACs installed today " absher" can you buy me something "absher" etc...,

I was naive at first and liked the word so much, but day by day I knew that when someone says "absher" it means that 95% won't happen so take care :)

......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.06
ETH 3737.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64