The Curious Case of 28

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I have not often paid attention to numbers[^1]. They're just that, digits. Through my life I found affinity for multiple numbers, the beautiful triple 6 being one of them.

At younger age also 16, especially when playing the beautiful game called football. After 13, obviously, but not every team would allocate that number to a player.

Yet there is one number which has always had significance in life and it isn't 420.


The number 28. Two eight.

I don't know what the symbolic meaning of 28 is. I've never truly bothered to look it up. It's two times fourteen. Another number I like for whichever unknown reason.

Yet, twenty eight has actually had an explanation in its significance. An explanation beyond the beautiful mathemical perfection that is 666. A meaning.

The Age of 28

When I was younger, probably as young as 18 or 19 even, I've always said there was something beautiful about women at the age of 28. They had more often than not finished their studies, embarked on a professional career path already and also had their wildest years beyond them. Or still to come.

Then I always said finding a partner 28 years old would be my ideal setup. Despite my younger age. I was already professional active and would soon also start the nomadic life I've had thanks to the opportunity of being able to travel in different places. I like to think that my parents educated someone who was rather mature already for an old teenager.

Thus it wasn’t surprising that I often immediately appended that with the expression whether I would still think and feel the same about a 28 years old partner when in my fourties.

I am now at an age that it would be absolutely acceptable to have a midlife crisis. A 28 years old partner could by some be considered the compulsory midlife crisis trophy.

Obviously, I am still — or again — single. I can confirm that I never had a 28 years old partner. Even not en passant, by which I mean a partner who became 28 while we were together.

I have had two partners who were slightly older. I have had one partner who was younger. And the rest, the rest is none of your business

I enjoy the single life, I enjoy the peace it brings with itself. Yet, not that long ago the “Quest of 28” returned to my thoughts. Totally and utterly innocently and fleetingly too. But not fleetingly enough not to make it to a post.

So... do I still feel the same about the age of 28?

Can I get back to you in another decade? I’m enjoying the peace of solitude too much to wonder and care about answering.


[^1] Of course that’s a blatant lie. I’m a closet nerd in denial. I love numbers. Math is sexy.



This post was initially published on fknmayhem.fyi and cross-posted to the Steem blockchain with SteemPress.

Sort:  

The moon seems to be your perfect partner …

IMG_8049.jpg

IMG_8051.jpg

IMG_8053.jpg

IMG_8054.jpg

Of course there had to be a certain degree of mathematical perfection to it. Even if I wasn't aware of it.

Given all those cycles, it's interesting that to me 28 meant maturity.

As you can imagine (growing with the moon and such) to me it has been of significance, too.
I was intrigued when I read the title because I am followed by eights lately. In all kinds of combinations (writing this with 78% battery).
And this is from my latest post:

Bildschirmfoto 20190509 um 15.29.45.png

I'm recently followed mostly by 2s. If I get an 8/10 I may as well settle for it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Maybe check out all the new Steemians who still have rep 28 and see if the love of your life is amongst them :D

LOL.

All that comes to mind in that aspect is "I don't date where I shit". :D

:') So no interest in @steemder then!

Nope.

As they say so eloquently, it's not them either it's me.

Now the sarcast in me would love to add something about "why sign up to that 28 days cycle* but I know better and have learned not to make such reflections anymore. Besides, I also have my period. Albeit only twice it year... takes 6 months each time tho.

Hahahaha. If I had a choice I wouldn't sign up to the 28-cycle either, but hey, I never had the choice :')

You do, so think carefully.

The single life definitely has its perks :D

Oh, and maybe the new age you should focus on is 2x28, as that's when the 28-cycle is over and done and you can enjoy your 6-month cycles with her - if she wants to ;-)

Let's see how I feel about 28 next decade. :D

Currently I'm with Keanu.

lm1rw5lzph.jpg

Hi @fknmayhem!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.055 which ranks you at #1054 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 31 places in the last three days (old rank 1023).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17