Back to school @fortyplus

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Have you considered going back to study, in order to kick-start a change in career?

Or maybe train to move higher up the corporate ladder in your current place of employment?

Or maybe you have been out of work and really want to get back in to work after a long lay-off, but know that it would mean going back to school for a short period of time?

Do you find the prospect of going back to school scary?

I decided to take myself back to university, after deliberating for a few long months.

It was “now or never” for a long while, but eventually I took the plunge.

A lot happened to me that contributed my decision. Redundancy, and the extended search for employment meant I had a lot of time to reflect.

There were times when I was beyond frustrated, but those times made me more determined to make a change.

There is no time like the present, and no time to waste.

Due to the fact that I was already filling in job applications, one more application form, this time to UCAS, wouldn’t hurt, would it?

I was already attending interviews, so one more interview wasn't going to hurt either.

A little while later, I got accepted to my University of choice.

I had accepted one of the job offers I had received already, but the opportunities that going back to University would offer me were impossible to turn down. The job I had accepted, suited me down to the ground, but the chance to learn something new was too compelling. It turned out to be an easy decision, but one that was also, thankfully, supported by my employer.

Was it daunting? Yes, but that was short-lived.

Was I the oldest in the class? No, and it was very comforting knowing that there were so many students, my age and older, who are still pursuing higher education.

Proof that it’s never too late, as I’ve said once or twice before.

Don’t regret not doing the things you could have done. Give things a second thought and weigh up your options.

Have you considered going back to school to improve on what you already know?

Have you thought about trying something completely different?

If so, what do you feel is stopping you? Make a list of pros and cons, and see if you can actually make it happen.

SteemFollower is a new tool released, giving more visibility to your posts. To increase your FOLLOWERS, and boost your UPVOTES, click HERE to get started… https://steemfollower.com/?r=1025 . Enjoy your journey….

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68