My Life - "Buckshot"! #8

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My life encountered a big change in the summer between the first and second grades of school.  Mother married a man from the nearby village of LaBolt.  So we, the 4 kids, Mother and her new husband, Norman, all moved into a small house there.

My world was again turned upside down.  I was happy living in the country, and now I had to deal with people again.  My only consolation was that Tony was still allowed to be with us.   Tony actually liked living in the little village of LaBolt because he could overturn all the neighbors garbage cans and get

free food.  Out in the country, he had to work hard to find food.   But here in town, free food was his for the taking.  We always fed him, of course, but no matter how much food we gave him, he still liked to shop for tasty morsels in the neighbors garbage cans.

Shortly after we moved to LaBolt, I met a kid who would become my best friend, throughout all of my childhood, Buckshot.   Buckshot was a year younger than me, and lived with his dad, Elvie.  Elvie worked for the railroad during the daytime, and was out of town while he was working.  This left 5 year old Buckshot to fend for himself while Elvie was at work.

I think the main reason Buckshot and I became best friends, was that neither of us liked to talk a lot.   We could play together and explore the outdoors, all day long and seldom talk to each other.  We just seemed to be able to communicate with each other without talking. Sure, we talked to each other, but not nearly as much as other people do.  Buckshot, Tony and I were together virtually every day that summer.

Buckshot somehow sensed when it was time for his dad to get off work, because he liked to lie in the road ditch and wait for his dad's car to come driving up the dusty road.


The next post will be how I became unconscious in a road drainage culvert!



My first post
My second post
My Life Begins - I Almost Killed My Mother!! #1
My Life - Neighbor & Tomato Plants #2
My Life - A Boy and a BB Gun #3
My - Life a Boy and a BB Gun (continued) #4
My Life - The Devastation of First Grade #5
My Life - The Devastation of First Grade (continued) #6
My Life - The Devastation of First Grade Continued #7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75