My Life - The Devastation of First Grade (continued) #6

in #life6 years ago

School is so Difficult for Me

The rest of first grade went much the same as the first day.

I hated school.

Because I was expected to interact with kids, and adults, it was extremely stressful for me.   It seemed like whenever I said anything, or whenever anyone asked me a question, all the kids would laugh at me.  I withdrew deeper and deeper within myself.

The other kids seemed like they understood everything the teacher was showing us, while I was struggling with almost everything.  Most of them knew the letters of the alphabet, and the order in which they were recited.  All I could see was strange configurations of short lines, where some were curved and some were straight.

All of them could count to 10 and could pick out each number.  I could do none of that.  I wanted to go home.  I wanted to be with tony.

There is, however, one thing I liked about 1st grade.  Lunch.

When the bell rang for lunch, I would find any empty table to eat at, so I wouldn't have to talk to anyone.

The other kids usually left me alone at lunchtime.

I was happy for that, because lunch time was the only enjoyable time of the day.  The lunch ladies would let me eat as much as I wanted to, and I could also drink as much milk as I wanted, as long as I left the glass empty when I was finished.  I usually ate quite quickly to make sure I had eaten my fill before we had to leave the lunchroom.

WOW! Chocolate Milk

Whenever I filled my milk glass from the milk dispenser, which was very much like the one in this picture, I wondered what the liquid was that came out when raising the left handle.

I knew that milk came out when I raised the right handle, but I was puzzled as to what the brown liquid was that came out of the left tube.

I didn't dare ask any of the kids because I didn't want them to laugh at me.

After about 6 weeks had passed, I got up enough nerve to ask the lunch lady what the brown stuff was, coming out of the milk dispenser. She very kindly told me it was chocolate milk. I had never heard of chocolate milk before, but I knew I liked chocolate cake.  So, the next day, during lunch, I filled my glass with chocolate milk.

It was good.

From that day forward, I drank only chocolate milk during lunch.

It was during the first grade when I also discovered that I thought differently from the other kids. They thought with words and numbers, I thought with pictures.

After a few months went by and the other kids were starting to read, I wondered why I couldn't read. So one day when the final bell rang, and all the other kids left the room, I asked the teacher when I would see the pictures. She asked me what pictures I meant? I explained to her that I only saw a bunch of short curvy lines and straight lines but I was waiting to see the pictures of the words, instead of the straight and curvy lines. She laughed in amusement, and said I would only see the straight and curvy lines because they were what represented the letters and numbers

I was hurt because I thought she was laughing at me, and not laughing at what I had said.

I was glad I could go home right away.  I needed to see Tony, and to hug him. Tony was my friend. My one, and only, friend.

To be continued

My first post
My second post
My Life Begins - I Almost Killed My Mother!! #1
My Life - Neighbor & Tomato Plants #2
My Life - A Boy and a BB Gun #3
My - Life a Boy and a BB Gun (continued) #4
My Life - The Devastation of First Grade #5

Sort:  

Wow ... This is a good story. @fxtrader, I am very fascinated with this story.

Did you know @fxtrader, that the post you shared today is very similar to the story in Indian film entitled "Taare Zameen Par". The story of this movie is also very inspiring, so it makes me watch it many times, have you ever watched it Mr. @fxtrader ..?

The film tells the story of a boy named Ishan. Ishan lives in a family like any other family. But in fact Ishan is not like small children in his age. Especially in school problems. Where Ishan is known as a lazy child, not obedient, stubborn and also like to ditch. Ishan often lies to both parents when it comes to school issues. This is what makes both parents regard Ishan as a recalcitrant child. Both parents also always compare Ishan with his own brother. Where his brother is someone who is smart, obedient and also an expert in exercising.

In fact there is one advantage Ishan has and rarely known by others. That is his ability in imagination. Imagination possessed by Ishan is very broad and also creative. To express the imanjinasi then Ishan often draw. The pictures he created are always unique and amazing. But unfortunately, no one else is aware of it. Until then the father of Ishan was not able to be patient again with the bad grades that Ishan got in his school. Especially in his age Ishan still can not count and write. Because it is considered embarrassing then his father sent Ishan to attend a special boarding school.

But there Ihsan condition even worse. He felt discarded by his family and felt useless to anyone. This is further exacerbated by the teachers there who always suppress Ihsan who can not write and also read. In the midst of the downfall came a new art teacher named Ram. Ram realizes that Ishan is an intelligent kid but like there is something blocking that intelligence. Until then Ram learned that Ihsan suffered from dyslexia. That is a disease that makes a person difficult to recognize numbers and also letters. Since then, Ram promises to be able to make Ihsan have a better life.

Hi sudutpandang! No I have not seen the Indian film. It sounds like it would be interesting. One thing different about my writing though, is that it is all true. It is all about events that actually happened to me. If you see my very first post from 2 years ago, you will see that I have led a very different life. I plan to write about all the events.

Really so. @fxtrader ...?
I have not had time to read all your posts. @fxtrader ...., let alone posting the last duatahjn it.,
But I will set aside time to read, especially post that two years ago it ...
This is interesting, if indeed every post you are a reality that happens in your life.,
Hopefully it can be learned, and beneficial to many people ...

Congratulations @fxtrader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68