Back up and running! - RunForSteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"I am a runner."

Words I would never have used as a child. Happy to run around a field chasing a ball. But just go for a run...no!

That changed in 2010 when my nephew contracted meningitis. A local half marathon was coming up so I decided to raise money for the hospital that looked after him. And that was it, I got the bug!

While I was happy to finish, my inner competitor said I could go faster, so I ran more and got quicker.

I've since run 5k's, 10k's, more half marathons, and one full marathon. All was going well, until this summer, and the injuries.

Oh, the injuries.

Hamstrings. Hips. Glutes. All tied up in knots and not allowing me to run as I wanted. Sports massages and physio didn't seem to help but they did both say that I had to rest.

I didn't want to but eventually I heeded their advice. 2 months off is my longest break from running in 7 years! But yesterday I made it back onto a treadmill. Only 3k and only 16 minutes of running but it felt so good!

Onwards and upwards for 2018!

Sort:  

👍I follow and upvote you .👉you follow and upvote me👌

t happens to the best. There are always ways to avoid injuries but running is too tempting even though we shouldn't some days...
Anyway I ll follow your journey and if you want to follow me, I post training talks and outing I did all over the world. Cheers

Thank you. My heart was ruling my head for a while. I'll definitely follow you back.

I hope your nephew fully recovered.
Thank you for joining weekly #runforsteem

Yes he is, thank you. That was thanks to the great work by the doctors and nurses at the hospital.

I know the worrying you must have gone through. Best wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79