Throw your rubbish in the street will you?...You just lost a customer

in #life6 years ago

I went to Bunnings Monday night as I needed some washers to fix a couple of dripping taps. For those of you who don't know, Bunnings is a huge hardware store chain owned by Australian company Wesfarmers. They also own Kmart, Coles, Target and several other companies; Sixteen in total. In 2016 their annual revenue was $65.98 billion dollars.

The Bunnings I went to is not too far away from my home and I go past every couple of weeks either to Bunnings, the car wash near it or on the way to other locations. Each time for the past couple of months I've commented to my wife about the amount of rubbish around the building. The rubbish consists of plastic wrap and nylon strapping (used to wrap pallets of stock), paper, cardboard and other packing related rubbish. It's quite obvious it's the waste left over from their staff unwrapping incoming pallets of stock. Unfortunately my image does not show the true extent of the rubbish left strewn around but you get the idea.

The business advertises the catchphrase, "Lowest prices are just the beginning, " however I'm not quite sure what they mean. Quite possibly, and judging by the contempt they have for the environment, they could mean the beginning of the end for the local marine life or maybe even what they mean is the beginning of the end for the environment as a whole because our profits are more important to us than the environment and containing our own waste then disposing of it responsibly.

Anyway, it's pretty disgusting that the rubbish is simply left like that and it's not just a random thing. It's always like that. I think it's time to shop elsewhere. Today I took a drive by the closest Mitre 10 hardware store and was pleased to see it was all nice and tidy with no garbage and filth blowing free in the street. Sure, they don't have the range of items Bunnings have but I will be shopping there from now on.

I'm hoping to see Bunnings clean up their act however I doubt they will. There's less staff each time I go there and they become more and more of a cash and carry type establishment in that one can't get advice from an expert. There's a few shelf-packers around here and there but ask them a question and blank stares is about all you get. I have heard good things about Mitre 10 so I'll shop there until they start throwing their rubbish into the street like Bunnings.

[- Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default - @galenkp -]

Sort:  

in my city I'm very clean about throwing trash on the street in the street

Yes, I don’t think there’s any reason to be throwing rubbish in the street. I get particularly annoyed with smokers who simply flick their cigarette butts on the street. It’s very bad for the environment as they don’t break down that well and it’s also disrespectful in general. Any form of littering is unacceptable but the world seems more interested in the asses of the Kardashians and fake news so nothing gets done about it.

Brother, what he said sounded with a lot of feeling and truth, everyone looked through the asses of the Kardashians. With respect to cigarette butts, I am an active smoker and I do not throw cigarette butts in the street, but in a recyclable garbage container. SHOULD GIVE THE EXAMPLE REGARDLESS OF WHAT WE ARE IGNORED, ALWAYS THERE IS ONE THAT HAVE IN MIND. Greetings and have a nice day and Carnival haha

That is terrible it would not take much to send a staff member or two out there and clean it up say once a week. When i work at a big warehouse i used to get my staff to go outside and pick up any escaped rubbish and we did not have public coming there. It was just the right thing to do.

They have no conscience and their drive for greater profits and lesser costs takes up all their time.

To true mate.

Hoping the store will acquire another headcount to do the cleaning of their perimeters, simple waste segregation, and proper waste disposal. In my country, littering is like a normal act that someone simply do not care about..
Strict and effective policies should implement but if your (our) politicians has lack loving our environment, we simply waiting for our doom..

I have heard that in some countries the concept of littering being wrong or unacceptable is not embraced. I don't get it. Here it's not considered a good thing in fact there are government agencies dedicated to preventing waste being inappropriately disposed of and yet this big company cannot send a worker around to collect the rubbish once a day or implement policies to prevent the littering from taking place int he first instance. Mind boggling.

Well, they lost me anyway, but then they probably don't care about that either.

There's normally a little less selection and a bit higher prices by going with the smaller stores, but it feels good to support them, especially if they're family owned or locally owned. Then you know it's going right back into the community...hopefully.

Agreed. It's a little further and the prices possibly a little higher but I'll feel better shopping there. It's not like I'm in a trade and am shopping there every day so on the occasions I go there I'm happy to pay a few cents more if it means I don't have to support those pigs at Bunnings.

My local Mitre10 has HEAPS of people working in the store, all of the time. Its a family owned store, so I shop there when i can and only go to bunnings if mitre10 dont have the product i want. They're always the first stop. #boycottthebigguys

We should get that hashtag trending! I agree though, Bunnings lost me for good. #boycottthebigguys

nice post my friend

we have to take care of the space where we live

Yes, or we won’t have one for much longer. The planet will not lament when we are gone though. B

Complaining to management about the terrible state of affairs didn't help? :<

Hopefully the Mitre10 doesn't go anywhere, I think we had a few shut down around here.

goatsig

I didn’t mention it to management. Hmm, maybe an email with my pictures attached might do the trick. It doesn’t remove what I see as their obligation for responsible waste containment and disposal though. Should we really need to remind them?

Mitre 10 is owned by Metcash and they merged it with Home Hardware which they also own so you’ll probably find it closed down but there is a Home hardware somewhere close. Maybe.

You should. And they should be on top of this stuff but either they don't realise their employees aren't bothering to clean up after themselves or they think they can get away with it and need a swift boot up the arse :)

goatsig

I'm going to go with the boot up the ass theory! :)

I am one of those people who prefer to keep a paper wrapper in my back pocket than to throw it

Yes, if only there were more like you. Still, the faster we destroy our planet and become extinct the faster the planet can start over without us. That was sarcasm, however it’s the way we’re going. Humans are like a virus to the planet.

Shameful. Could at least have someone go around and clean the property with all those profits..

Its like America where Walmarts move into the neighborhood, take everyone out of business and jack the prices up, and now, as of late, shut their own doors once all the other businesses are out of town... odd.

Yeah, it's standard practice for the big conglomerates. I'm shopping local at Mitre 10 from now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67