Small Town Parades: Clowns & ExHusbands

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I watched my exhusband and his new girlfriend walk by me at our town parade last night. Kind of a small town, it's bound to happen. I've stood in the same spot for twenty years. No doubt he knew we were there when they turned that corner. I was instantly glad I had left the dog at home.

As I watched him go by, I found it interesting that I didn't recognize him. It was six months, to the day, exactly since he left me. I only knew him from her. I could tell he was my exhusband from the look on the recognizable female face that was glaring me down as she passed. I just smiled.

I found it amusing that they wore matching outfits.

The clowns were amusing, too. They also had matching outfits. They were passing in the parade at the same time. I smiled at the irony.

Sunny-Light-Bulb-15_001.jpg

Then the electric company came down the street with their huge neon yellow, lightbulb shaped, balloon. Everyone ooo'd and aaawwed as they pulled it up and down under the electric wires. It nearly hit the first set of wires and everyone roared and cheered as they saved it. I thought to myself. Whew. That was a close one.

I watched the huge balloon for another minute as it dipped under the last set of wires and that is when I caught my exhusband's eye. He was all the way down the street, nearly in front of the church where we once renewed our vows, and as he moved out of sight, I thought to myself.

Whew. That was a close one.

edf7e80d59911ae2a38e7e6cf689738b.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67