WTF is wrong with my eyes!?!?!

in #life5 years ago

I never thought I had allergies growing up. My brother seemed pretty effected by the whole pollen crap...but I never really seemed to be effected at all. I didn't have sniffling or sneezing all the time. Sure, occasionally, but more often when I was sick than just cuz there was some extra pollen in the air.

But then a few years ago, I started noticing how often I woke up with "tired" eyes. I thought that I was just extra tired. It sure led to sleeping in a lot, just because my eyes were a bit "tired".

2752366829_62671fdd14_b.jpg
Warrior Spirit by Shane Gorski August 9, 2008
Used under CC BY-ND 2.0 License
He has an Etsy store, but it's currently on hiatus.

But they weren't "tired". Eyes dry out when you get tired, making you associate that dryness with feeling tired. Or at least it did for me. What it actually was was allergies! It was a total shock to me.

Apparently I have a slight dust and pollen allergy. I don't get super bad, but I do sneeze occasionally and wake up with "tired" eyes. It's gotten to the point where I often have to use eye drops when I first wake up, because they're pretty much always dry and "tired".

Not exactly fun trying to get yourself to wake up when your eyes are telling you that they're dry and need more shut-eye. Not like it's super hard to get up with them like that, but it's super annoying when it happens every morning.

At least saline solution isn't super expensive. I just have to wash off my face, put a few drops in, wash it again, then be annoyed that the stupid fuckers gotta make a big deal out of it every morning.

BTW, if you ever live with someone, give them enough counter space to do their morning routine. Don't be a counter monster and take up every spot in the bathroom with your junk. #justsaying

I've gotten out of the habit of washing my face over the years because of living with people that made it impossible for me to do such a morning routine without putting my glasses on the toilet or literally in the sink. And I'm not putting my glasses on the fucking toilet! Be respectful to your roommates!

Sort:  

This made me laugh, and I'm not sure if that's okay! I'm sorry about your allergies, but I got a kick out of the way you presented it.

You are a horrible horrible person.

I actually had to re-read it to figure out what you found funny. I guess maybe some of it's funny.

But right now my eyes are still tired, many hours after waking up from an afternoon nap after getting my schedule all messed up repairing a family member's computer because they haven't filed their taxes yet and it was fucking up. Not like my schedule is that great normally, due to insomnia. So maybe I'm too annoyed with my dumb tired eyes to see much humour in it.

I wasn't laughing about the discomfort, you manage to toss a bit of wit into it though.

Anyway I hope they feel better soon.

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 9.85% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86