Parasitology: One cool subject!

in #life6 years ago (edited)
Hello, my friends! Hope everyone is having a good week and is doing good. Well... Me, I've been kinda busy lately, because I recently started my classes at the university, that's why I'm not posting as much as I used to. I'm a med student so I have to study all the time, I can barely spend a little time for me, but don't get me wrong! I love medicine, but that's not the main topic for this post at all.
Today I want to share with you some pictures of my parasitology practices at my university. Even though my university doesn't have enough money and the needed conditions to function at it's best, we still try to make it work because education is first, right?

At the first class we talk about the general characteristics of some parasites, so my teacher didn't explain much about each one of the parasites I'm gonna show you, he said we'll learn about it, one by one at each class.
So, here are some parasites:

This one is called Ascaris lumbricoides.

This is Taenia solium. Our teacher said the first one was extracted from a cow and the second one from a pig.

This little one, that you can barely see, is called Trichuris trichiura.

At my second practice of parasitology we observe some of this parasites throught the microscope, and let me tell you it was one of my favorites classes until now! You just got to see how amazing it looks, so here are some pictures:

This is a fertile egg of Ascaris lumbricoides. As you can see it has a round shape, that's one characteristic that shows is a fertile egg. You'll see the difference between the infertile one in a bit.

Alright, here we have an infertile egg of Ascaris lumbricoides. How do we know is not fertile? because of it's oval shape, that's the first characteristic that tell us is infertile.

This is a cross-section of a female species of Ascaris lumbricoides. The large hole in a oval shape is the digestive tube, it looks different between the male and the female.

And the last one is called Toxocara cati. This one is generally found in the cats, but sometimes can be found in the humans too, even though is a parasite from the cats, it can get complicated in the humans if it's not treated well. This one was actually found in a cross-section of the lungs, where you can see the larvaes as a red or pink circles.

Well, my friends, I hope you liked and enjoyed my post! I thought it was an interesting and amazing topic, and I really wanted to share this pictures with all of you. Greetings!

Sort:  

No entiendo mucho, lo que si es que la medicina y la rama en general es tan interesante y compleja que yo admiro a quienes se involucran con ella

Jajaja ¡Muchas gracias por tu comentario! En medicina hay materias muy interesantes. Hasta ahora esta es mi segunda materia favorita en lo que llevo de carrera.

¡Hola bella! Jajaja me alegra que mi post te haya gustado y bueno, que también te haya servido como un adelanto a la materia. De mi parte te digo que hasta ahora me ha encantado parasitología. ¡Éxitos en la carrera, saludos!

Hello @gellyarenas: very interesting and didactic the subject that you just presented us, very clear and direct. We look forward to more information of this kind. Greetings.

Thank you so much! Greetings <3

I think this qualifies as the grossest post I've seen so far... but it's your field of study, so good job! Someone's gotta know about these things to keep the rest of us healthy. :-D

Hahaha oh, no! I didn't meant to make this post gross, it's just that I liked so much my parasitology classes that I found all of this things amazing, haha. Thanks for your comment @bananamemos, greetings!

That's what I mean, it's good that SOMEONE is studying this stuff, and better you than us. Bananas do NOT make very committed doctors; we like hanging around too much. :-D

Here's a snack to keep you goin' while studying:
a Steemnana 250x167.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gellyarenas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @gellyarenas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67