A Sandpoint Story

in #life6 years ago

A Meal And A Massage


IMG_2054.JPG

Today I made a foray into the burg of Sandpoint, Idaho. A quirky town, set in a beautiful chunk of the North Idaho Panhandle, Sandpoint is a lovely place to visit. My reason for sojourning up north was my super, fantastic, amazing mom scheduled a massage for me as a combination birthday/Mother's Day gift. How awesome is that!

Adding to the awesomeness, aside from the fact that I got to hang out with my Ma all day, was that I have never had a massage before. Like evah! I know, sad, right? So, I was anticipating the event with relish. Mom had some other business to attend to today, so we also found ourselves doing a spot of shopping and faced with the horrible problem of finding something to fill our bellies with. Today was rough I tell you!

It wouldn't be a proper @generikat blog post without an observation or anecdote of oddity, and I found one today. My mom wanted a special bathtub pillow, the kind that sticks to the bathtub, to go with my grandma's Mother's Day present. We ended up traversing the store jungles looking for said item. As I was weeding through yet another bath accessory product aisle, I noticed something, mesh loofahs are everywhere. I kind of think, based on my super scientific, anecdotal evidence from my observations of every bath department of every bath accessories section in Sandpoint, that we are in the middle of a mesh loofah invasion! Those petroleum derived skin exfoliating bath accessories were everywhere, spilling out of random shelves at will. Be afraid people.

IMG_2059.JPG

I don't know about ya'll, but when I'm terrified of being smothered by potential bacteria hiding plastic mesh, the first thing I want to do is eat, and soon mom and I found ourselves at an eatery called Joel's Mexican Restaurant. The place itself is pretty low key, you just walk up and order from the very animated and incredibly upbeat employees, and a few minutes later you dig into stuff that looks like this:

IMG_2058.JPG

I mean, my crispy pork carnitas tacos had house pickled onions, guacamole, and pico de gallo on them. My taste buds got a massage today too! Yum!

After lunch came the main event, the massage. Not knowing what to expect, I was led to a room with a comfy sheet and blanket covered table in the middle. Instructed to remove whatever articles of clothing I was comfortable with tossing, I soon found myself stripped down to my skivvies. I'm a pretty modest person and don't like my various bits exposed, but after you have had kids you kind of lose all care in that department. Everything has been observed and prodded, like a lot.

All I have to say at this point is if you haven't yet had a professional massage, please, please do yourself a favor and go get one. What a glorious experience! I got a full body rub down, and I honestly felt like I had just won the Kentucky Derby or something. The place I went to, Kauai Therapy , makes their own lotions and soon I smelled like an essential oil enthusiast. Not that I cared, for I was about as chill as the New Age music floating through the Bluetooth speaker in the corner. You can bet your bottom droplet of Arnica oil that I am going to have another massage in the near future.

IMG_2060.JPG

You know a business is cool when they have a Lake Pend Oreille cut out hanging on the wall!

And now my dear followers, I am off to the last part of my special rest and relaxation day, a luxurious soak in my bathtub. There are some perks to being small in height, one of them being that my extra large tub is like a pool for my small self. I do so hope that you all are having a sublime evening!

Oh, and WATCH OUT FOR MESH LOOFAHS!



And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's super chill but situationally aware iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here!

Sort:  

Well, now that you've been introduced to the wonderful world of massages, be sure to have them more often. I have had a few sub-par massages though but a friend taught me to always book with a Registered Massage Therapist (RMT) opposed to a Massage Therapist and I have noticed that has made a difference in the quality. About five months ago I started taking a "mom's day off" where I leave the kiddos with Matt and just have some time to decompress. Each time I have gone in for a massage and I am pretty sure the last one had me sawing logs by the end of it! 🤣
As for the tacos, I don't think you could ever go wrong with tacos! This year my birthday fell on a Tuesday so I specifically requested we have taco Tuesday! Ha ha ha!
I am glad to hear you had a lovely day with your mom and a pleasant birthday/mother's day gift experience. -Aimee

Oh, you so don't have to tell me twice, I am fully on the massage train now! In fact, I love the idea of your "Mom's day off" and was thinking about instituting a monthly visit the massage therapist:o) That's so lovely that you get to do so, I think I smiled for five minutes out of joy for you!

And Happy Belated Taco Tuesday Birthday! Tacos are just glorious and I never get tired of them, and am so super pleased that you got to feast on them on your birthday!

Ha ha ha! You are so sweet! I am so thankful that Matt helps me get that time to myself. I used to think it was selfish when mom's took time off from their kids but now I see the value in self care.

Thanks for the birthday wishes! 🎈 I hope you had a happy birthday too, it sounds like you did. -Aimee

but after you have had kids you kind of lose all care in that department.

This reminded me of a meme I saw the other day. Seems even more true for homeschool moms as my mother would attest, lol.

Never have I seen a more accurate meme....😆😆😆

Well I am happy to see you are following through on your past promise to take better care of Kat! Rest and relaxation are good for body and soul! Well done!

Ah, OGP, I love the way you think! My post for the day is done, and I am now going to go enjoy a little more of that R&R. Hope you are having a lovely evening too and thank you:o)

I see you were just loofahing around today ... lol. Yes I remember when those were all the rage; they must be coming back into vogue. A good massage is worth every penny I agree:) Glad you got some R&R; I know you deserve it:)

HA HA! You just made a new verb, LOL! They are just everywhere, it is sorta creepy for sure, and thank you kindly for the well wish, I sure appreciate it:o) Hope you are having a lovely evening!

I am ... about to watch some twin peaks:)

I think you know my daughter is a massage therapist; therefore, I have become very well-acquainted with the wonders of a full-body massage. I am so glad you finally got to enjoy that experience! There are many ladies who gush about getting a mani/pedi, which does not appeal to me at all. I'll take a massage, thank you!

Ooh, I will take a massage over one of the foot and hand treatments any day, not that I have ever had one of those. My poor hands are usually covered in all manner of soil "polish" anyway, lol!

Also, I am still in mourning over the bread:o( I'm on a couple of weeks of strict intake, and drat it all the very first day I get tempted, lol, go figure, right? Hope you got to enjoy the glories of your gluten crafting!

burp It was quite tasty. The loaves will catch up with you another time!

I think the day ended well what I liked the most were the meals, the tacos looked delicious is that they are so rich, by the way I laughed so much about your bathtub hahahaha it's good to know then you enjoy your bath in a pool hahaha very good

Ha ha! I suppose my tub does feel a bit like a pool to me, not that I mind, lol! And I am usually with you on liking the meals the most on any given day, but that massage might have won my favorite thing of the day yesterday! Hope you are having a lovely day yourself!

Awesome post and most importantly you had tacos :D

Exactly, lol! And thank you!

Love Sandpoint!

Me too! It's such a quirky, wonderful little burg!

Happy Birthday and I hate loofahs too, 🤢 They are nasty, but I love tacos and Idaho ❤️

Ooh, thank you @reddust! So good to hear from you, and I am glad to know that you love Idaho and tacos too. It also makes me happy to know that the loofahs won't get the jump on you, lol!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99