How to Pick Out the Perfect Mother's Day Present (ideally without bleeding on it)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

There is blood on my shirt. Red is a primary color, like yellow. Red and yellow look good together. Blood and flowers look nice together. But more about the blood later. Let’s talk about the flowers.

20190511_165224.jpg

So there is a proper way to pick out a Valentine’s Day gift. Wait, wait, not Valentine’s Day. I have said that three times today—I am talking about Mother’s Day. It is hard to keep track of what holiday, because there are just so many generic holidays that involve stores scraping together a bunch of sad looking roses and cards with elegant text.

So, there is a proper way to pick out a Mother’s Day gift. And it does not involve those droopy, half closed roses that Walmart is selling by the hundreds, which sadly will never unfurl their petals because they are sad droopy Walmart roses. I don’t care much for the other weird trinkets there either, and I know what I am talking about because I am a mother.

20190511_165043.jpg

A zinnia is also a highly practical and dramatic flower, although not quite as dramatic...you will see what I am talking about...read on...

So, again, there is a proper way to pick out a Mother’s Day gift. Unfortunately no children know this, so sometimes mothers simply have to take matters into their own hands. They have to instruct the family on how to go about success, and that is what I did today.

The first step is to find a friendly farmer. Specifically, this needs to be a farmer with a very large, very impressive, very beautiful field of sunflowers. Sunflowers are the perfect flower. They grow in sand. They grow in scorching humidity. They grow amid swarms of insects. They grow straight through summer with big, smiling faces that worship the sun. Every mother respects that sort of practicality. Also, they are enormous, and that is dramatic. Mothers are used to drama.

20190511_165815.jpg

Give me my toy!
No, give me my toy!
I’m never ever, ever going to play with you again!
No, I’m never ever, ever going to play with you again!

Drama. So much freaking drama. Mothers even learn to omit expletives for words like “freaking” because they are practical. Practicality and drama—that is a mother’s life; that is a sunflower’s life.

20190511_165127.jpg

So, back to the procedure. First, I found my friendly farmer with the really impressive sunflower field. Then, I told my family we were going there. My husband knows how I feel about sunflowers, he did what he was told. Then I packed up a picnic lunch of egg salad and cucumber salad, because they are yellow and green—the colors that surround you when you are having a picnic in a sunflower field.

Alright, so the color coordination thing was purely luck. It just so happened that first thing this morning the only protein I had in the house was eggs, so I made egg salad, because mothers are practical. And I happen to have a lot of cucumbers. I already have three jars of pickles, what the hell else do you do with a cucumber other than make salad?

20190511_165434.jpg

So we made the drive to the field with our egg salad and cucumber salad. The sun was beating down like it was cooking us for lunch and that field was the sun’s special slow cooker. Those devout sunflowers were too busy worshiping the sun to care. A gentle breeze rustled the leaves of the sunflowers while I broke open our matching yellow and green food. And then came the red.

A nose bleed. My damn nose. It is a failure to the rest of my face. It had been a good two weeks since its last let down, and the rest of me was beginning to think the thing had cleaned up its act. But no. And no tissue, no idle piece of scrap paper, no receipt, no brown paper wrapping—nothing. Nothing but my shirt. And so red infiltrated our color scheme.

20190511_165528.jpg

But really red is the color of childbirth, and of life itself. It is the color of love. And there is no greater act of love than motherhood. So there it was smeared across my shirt in a sea of yellow and green sun worship. It had its place.

I started a bit of flower worship. I examined all the stages of life: the newborn bud that was yet unfurled, the adolescent with its inner parts still tightly wound, then the pregnant flower full of open parts dropping yellow pollen, and lastly the adult flower with her petals gently beginning to flutter away.

20190511_165606.jpg

The children each picked me a flower, and I picked one, and each stage of a flower's life is lovely.

So lovely that I spent the last six hours checking in on them in their place on my dining room table. I had been admiring all their drama and practically in the different shades of light as the sun slipped lower in the sky. And I’ve been sneezing. I may have just sneezed my hundredth time, but it doesn’t matter because they are motherhood encapsulated.

And it is so beautiful.

Sort:  

I really love sunflowers too. Getting your sunflowers was a great adventure, my sunflowers are bought from the local supermarket that is not a Walmart thank goodness.

Sunflowers always look like smiling faces to me. It is impossible not to like them. Whether from field or supermarket, I'm glad you have some smiling faces :)

Beautiful photos! Vitamin K helped the nose bleed prone members of my family.

Vitamin K. Interesting. I will look into it.

haha! this POST is beautiful. And beautifully written although I was hoping to see some blood. lol.
gorgeous field. didn't know Florida had anything that nice.

I actually considered taking a picture of my bloody shirt, but I didn't. Decided the sunflowers were a lot prettier.

Sunflowers grow awesomely here. I have some in my garden.

Yes I love sunflowers, of course growing up in Kansas they were everywhere. Don't see them much in Texas for some reason, I thought Texas climate would be similar to Kansas, or more so than Florida but they are sure hardy and I guess they decide where to grow!

Interesting. Texans are too tough for the pretties I guess ;)

haha! well some people would like to think so. Something must be missing in the soil that they need.

I love sunflowers too, so of course I loved looking at all of your photos.

Oh... and the zinnias too. They are certainly a hardy flower.

I see you took charge of the day and got what you wanted.

I just can't stop looking at them in my vase. So gorgeous.

Happy Mother's Day to one of the hardest working moms I know! I'm glad you had a lovely day, in spite of the nosebleed. You really ought to have the rest of your face stage an intervention with the nose and tell it to clean up its act.

Thank you.

I can assure you the face had a stern talk with the nose yesterday. In particular, the mouth had some words. ;)

Good to hear. We can't start letting facial features go rogue. That way lies anarchy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I am off to the French bakery with the kids to treat myself to very fancy and over priced pastries. You would like it too :)

I love the way a field of sunflower faces turn to follow the sun.

It is a neat thing. Reminds a person that plants are living, moving things.

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 158 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94