Sundays are for Morality Depicted with Doughnuts, Among Many Other Sublime things

in #life6 years ago

Freakishly quiet. That’s what Sunday mornings are in my part of the world. All the tourists are just starting to roll out of bed at ten o’clock. All the locals are still at church.

Sundays are for rituals, and in the very least, time with family. There is no better possible way to accomplish both of these goals than to spend the morning finding freakishly good parking, stepping out onto old brick-lined roads in a cloud of Floridian humidity. Good, healthy humidity—nice moist air in the lungs; a good detoxifying sweat. Storm clouds grumbled somewhere, far off, scaring away a few more tourists. The old city and her humidity was all ours.

image-2018-08-12 (14).jpg

A little palm tree shade. Very little.

First stop, the bakery, because sweet things prettily decorated make the children and I very happy. Doughnuts are a Sunday school ritual from my childhood, which I’m happy to carry on in my own way. We stopped at a small bakery with a cruddy exterior, but on the interior frostings glistened in white, pink, and black. A good example of how it is what is on the inside that counts. Sundays are for morality depicted with doughnuts.

image-2018-08-12 (8).jpg

Prettily colored things.

Second stop, the koi pond, because things that swim and are prettily colored make the children and I very happy. Then, I scrounged around the purse for a quarter to feed the fish, and contemplated whether the children would ingest e.coli or salmonella after touching fish food, and then eating doughnuts. We found a restroom and shared a sink with a homeless person brushing her teeth with a very nice electronic toothbrush. Sundays are for irony.

image-2018-08-12 (10).jpg

A piece of a foot, a chunk of a stroller, and two halves of a road.

Third stop, a museum, because quiet hallways and random things to look at make the children and I very happy. But before arriving, the tot required us to stop at every fountain along the two blocks of brick road that had to be traversed. (Which for the record, was three times.) I should note here that the children aren’t normal. They like “exploring” museums - little pioneers they are. We found an interactive station that had some very creepy historical figures that told their stories. They didn't have any whites in their eyes. These freaky representations confirmed everything I already suspected about the conquistadors. Sundays are for playing tourist.

image-2018-08-12 (11).jpg

Freaky Priest.

Fourth stop, a random wondering through the streets, because exploring old carriage roads makes the children and I very happy. The boy had disposed of all of his good manners in the previous forty-five minutes. (Five-year-old boys only have about forty-five minutes of them every twenty-four hours.) He ran ahead of us on the empty streets with our doughnut box carefully strapped into the umbrella stroller, whirling the poor things around until I was sure there was a rainbow of frosting inside there. It was a wild dance—the only sort of dance that could be done properly on those uneven bricks. We left the continent and present day, wondering into old Europe: Moldering walls around shuttered houses of cracked stucco, antique glass, and courtyard gardens. All was eerily quiet; past and present all mixed up together. Sundays are for confused beauty that leaves no words.

image-2018-08-12 (12).jpg

Walk like an Egyptian...

Until, finally we wondered back to our parking space. Things were not so quiet. The rain hadn’t made good on its promise and the tourists had woken up. We pulled out of our parking spot and watched two cars do battle over it with their horns.

image-2018-08-12 (13).jpg

A love tree; a little romantic, a little obscene.

And then homeward, to evaluate the state of the doughnuts.

Sort:  

howdy there @ginnyannette! wow ya'll get around don't ya? and what in the world is with that tree? that's amazing.
I agree, Sundays are for donuts. so you actually love the humidity or are you just trying to make yourself feel better?

It's a very confused tree. I have up and downs with the humidity. Overall I don't notice it that much though.

howdy this fine Monday to you ginnyannette! so basically you just get used to sweating. but the winters are really nice right? how cool does it get in the winter time there? I mean, what are the typical highs in Jan and Feb? here it's in the 50s and 60s, sometimes it will get to 70 but that's rare.

Temperatures totally depend on the year. January the highs are usually 60s, although I think we had a pretty good cold spell last January. We don't really ever get below 20 degrees, and usually just a handful of freezing nights. Two years ago I didn't even lose any plants over winter. Last year i did though. I like winters here, almost always clear blue skies and chilly enough. February is often times the beginning of spring, although the end of it usually has one little cold snap to throw a wrench in it. Last year I was still swimming at the beach in December, but then it was a pretty cold January. Anyway.

Yeah, you get used to humidity, like all things.

That is why you do not harbor a passionate hate for all things winter. You have never yet experienced winter! Spring in February. Such delight. To me that is just month four of the freeze with one or two more to go. The light does change in February here. That I do like. It is noticeably lighter by then.

Agreed, I would not fair well in a real winter. I am a bit curious about it though.

I did not mean to imply you could not handle it. I am quite sure you could. I would just be really surprised if you did not get sick of it. Come visit and experience it for yourself anytime!

I could definitely handle it...for about a week.

Sounds like a happy Sunday in your family @ginnyannette.

Yes it was :)

Thanks for stopping by.

I love your doughnut Sunday’s. They sound perfect to me. I agree with you on the humidity. I feel like it makes it easier to breathe. It has to be really high for me to hate it. Willie on the other hand, no surprise, hates the slightest bit of it.
Ok I hope this does not offend you, but when you captioned your photo “freaky priest” my first thought was, is there any other kind? I know your meaning is different than mine, but in my 12 years of full time Catholic school and 2 more (grad school) at a Catholic University, I have yet to meet a priest that didn’t give me a weird vibe. They just never seem like a regular guy down the street that works at a church. There is always something just a bit off. Perhaps it is just me, but I am not a big fan of the priesthood. Or to be honest organized religion of any form, but I know several Protestant ministers that do not give me a freaky vibe. They seem much more normal to me. I better stop. I have to be offending someone by now, so my apologies in advance. Walk like an Egyptian was pretty funny too. 🙂

Interesting perspective coming from someone that was really raised Catholic (my childhood was only quasi-Catholic). What you've said makes sense. I haven't been around them enough to form an opinion. I know I was terrified of them at communion, but did get a really kind vibe off the one that I finally did sit with during that time. Of course, I was five, so my vibe is not exactly trustworthy :)

I've met some really nice protestant ministers, but the majority I've met seem to have a hidden agenda. So I agree, I don't trust organized religion at all. As far as priests from the 1500's - I'm sure those guys were creeps.

Out of curiosity, do you get a good feeling from you average nun?

I totally understand what you mean by the hidden agenda and completely agree with you. In answer to your question I have even more nun experience than priest experience. The answer is yes most average nuns had a pretty good vibe. Most were genuine. I think they truly believed they were working for their “God” and wanted to help people. There have been a few odd ones but most were fine. I wonder how many nuns are actually out there anymore? I think the numbers must be very low. I am really glad that your five year old experience was a good one. Everyone should be nice to five year olds. I realize not everyone is nice to them. I only hope karma or something similar gets those people in the end.

There are a few nuns here. Every time I run into them, they seem very peaceful.

Yes, everyone should be nice to a five year old. I find 75 percent of people are.

Hey, Teach, shouldn't that be "the tourists had awakened"? Sorry, I couldn't resist. ;-)

I love it when people actually read my posts, mistakes and all :)

Oh, I see. The "dialect" was inserted to see if I was paying attention. I was. ;-)

Dialect. It comes before grammar. <--that is probably the number one excuse writers use for grammar mistakes. ;)

Yes, ma'am. I'll try to remember that. ;-)

Such a fun day out, the fish look very well fed already but that is quick thinking about washing hands before donuts - not sure I would want a fishy donut either.

That crazy paving is crazy, the angle of the photo with the little one in - she could be stood on a narrow ledge at the top of a skyscraper building!

So one tree that has grown right through another? That's crazy - never seen anything like that.

Thank you for sharing this amazing day as your #SublimeSunday

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Those fish are well fed. They might be more so than us doughnut eaters :)

Interesting perspective, I hadn't thought of the skyscraper thing.

Thanks for stopping by.

and now I want to eat donuts... and watch the weird evil conquistadors!

Those were some good doughnuts.

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awww sounds like a beautiful day. ♥
Thanks for sharing! Beautiful photos. :D

It was a beautiful day, even the thunderstorm at the end of it. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94