School Deputy Principal Threatens Detention For Kids Wearing Beanies At Playtime!

in #life7 years ago


At my intermediate we have the deputy principal going around during our lunch brake , play time shouting and forcing kids to take off beanies.
To the extend the Deputy Principal took the beanie off my friends head when she refused to give the beanie to him as she was cold.  

I've been shouted at to take off my beanie by my surname like we are in the military - we're only at intermediate!
To support their agreement they say "it's not apart of the school uniform you can't wear it you can wear the hat hat that's part of the school uniform a summer bucket hat" - gonna keep my head really warm when it doesn't even cover my ears, it has holes in the thin material. 

So their forcing kids 5-12 to take of there beanies by shouting at them to take off their beanies or they will receive detention and confiscate the beanie for the whole day.  At the movement it's winter for me it's freezing - although we don't get snow in the part of New Zealand we are in, it is still cold, as it's a wet wind.
They also say "I'm just one kid and all the other kids don't wear beanies so you have to take it off". -I'm standing right here and I have No say what so ever in what's going on - where the teachers have revealed that schools in New Zealand get $20 Thousand dollars per student attending the school. 

Some people might say "it's not cold you can live without wearing a beanie",Well I beg to differ.
I believe  children should be able to wear a beanie at school, just not inside. 

  • We all have different body temperature 
  • Who's going to look after me when I'm sick - not the teachers, principle nor deputy principle
  • Who's going to spend hours waiting in a doctors waiting room when I need to go to the doctors 
  • Just because a beanie isn't part of our school uniform shouldn't we be kept warm?
  • When we go outside due to running around we get hot we take off our jumpers but beanies,socks and shoes capture the heat escaping so we keep warm, so when we go in side we take off the beanies and put back on our jumpers. 
  • If we did have a school beanie it would be some cheap itchy beanie that most likely I would be allergic too.
  • Parent's have complained to the principle and deputy principal with both saying it's not part of the school uniform and maybe looked into next year - so what about this year we are to freeze?

Thank you for stopping by keep on Steeming.

Picture Source 

Sort:  

When I was at college (many years ago!) we could wear either socks or pantyhose with our winter uniform, but not both. Our Senior Mistress said that we only wanted to do that to make our legs look brown. If we wore the stockings, our feet froze. If we wore the socks, our legs froze. I thought times had changed and schools were a bit more sensible but clearly NOT!

Wow i do guess schools haven't changed over time.

Maybe it's Deputy Principals and Senior Mistresses who haven't changed. Maybe they'd like to be boss of something...

Great job on this post! You make a strong argument and I completely agree with you.

Unfortunately, adults don't always use common sense when they should. Still, of all the reasons to discipline a child, I never expected to see "dressing appropriately for the weather" as one of them.

Thank you @redhens,
"Adults don't always use common sense when they should"
I totally agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69032.73
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53