You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Murder and the 2018 Election in Mexico

in #life6 years ago

Okay. That's just plain horrifying.

Do you know when the dry law went into effect? I have no idea, but if I had to guess, it probably dates back a while, before the cartels got such a stranglehold on the country.

As you now being down there, many people don't need a reason to drink, they just do it. So, when there might be a reason, it gets worse.

Now, what I'm wondering is, what about the other candidates that are still alive? Does that mean they're all in the back pockets of the cartels, or are they just a little better at being discreet. And wouldn't it behoove those candidates who are wanting to do something about the cartels to find a better way to communicate that?

On the local levels, I could see where there would be little or no protection whatsoever. That's just going to perpetuate the lawlessness. It's amazing that you can still find people willing to stand up. It can't be because they don't expect something will happen to them.

I think you definitely should be aware and do what you can to avoid getting into the crossfire. What I'm not sure is, what do you do about it? It's going to take an iron will and a lot of fire power to do much damage to the cartels, and I don't know, if it's such a huge problem as you describe, if Mexico actually does it alone.

Sort:  

Now, what I'm wondering is, what about the other candidates that are still alive? Does that mean they're all in the back pockets of the cartels, or are they just a little better at being discreet.

Exactly my thoughts!

I'm not sure how long the law has been in existence. We went out for a short walk on Sunday and it was eerily quiet with a definite police presence. It was a very strange feeling and we actually accidentally wandered by a polling station too. It was so strange!!

I hope that means no violence then, since that's what the law is supposedly there for. Any activity at the polling place? I'm wondering what turn out was like, especially in a presidential election year. Looks like the third time is a charm for López Obrador. I don't expect things will take a turn for the better for Mexico, even if he is supposedly a reformist. I'm going to guess he's not going to be very friendly to Trump, or the US, for that matter.

Well, I'm glad you are safe, despite the eeriness of the situation. There are places in Latin America that are in far worse shape, and hopefully Mexico doesn't head in that direction.

I've yet to hear of anything happening here, but I haven't looked at news from other places yet. We walked by just one polling station, and there were plenty of people lined up and milling about, and we noticed a police truck driving by very slowly. Back home, the police presence would put me at ease, but here, it often creates the exact opposite feeling unfortunately.

No, I don't believe that Lopez Obrador is a Trump supporter. Should be interesting. There's a general dislike for Trump with just about everyone you talk to here.

Thank you; it was one of the first times I've ever felt uncomfortable here; I can't say "unsafe", but we were certainly on guard.

The times we've flown into the airport in Mexico City, we've spotted the armed soldiers there (way too equipped for a police force). You don't see that in any of the airports I've flown in and out of in the states. While it does give a sense of security, it also puts you a little on edge, as if there's a higher expectation of something going wrong. In the end, better to have them there than not, but that still doesn't feel all that good to say.

I know what you mean about the police force. Way too much corruption going on.

I don't doubt that there's no love for Trump. Generalizing everyone who comes into the US, legally or not, as criminals and rapists isn't the best way to make friends and influence people. That said, I still believe we should be a country of laws, and until the laws change on immigration, that they should be followed. It's not just drugs or human trafficking or other forms of contraband that finds its way in and out of here because of the insecurity (and any of that is certainly bad enough), there's also the possibility of terrorists and all of what they bring. The problem is, when the borders aren't secure, you don't know what's coming through.

And Mexico has its own immigration laws, of which you will be aware of. They expect non-citizens to adhere to them. So, there's enough gamesmanship happening on all sides of the issue that makes it at once kind of entertaining, but mostly annoying. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99