What Makes A Strong Relationship

in #life6 years ago

Hello and good day to my fellow steemians.

What Makes A Strong Relationship?

  1. Communication

  2. Honesty

  3. Respect

  4. Quality Time

  5. Positivity

  6. Trust

Today i would like to share with you something very personal and i believe writing this post can make me feel better. A very close friend of mine whatsapp me this morning telling me that her Ex-Boyfriend contacted her. I seriously couldn’t believe when she told me this and i felt so angry. Okay, you must be thinking what triggers me so much and wondering why i am angry? Let me tell you…

My friend is a sweet, tough and intelligent woman. People just love being around her because of her endless jokes and just being her crazy self. She was so happy and doing so well in her career, gets to travel a lot, got lots of friends, chance to meet different people until one day she met this guy..well, you know the first time is always the sweetest and most romantic. She told us she met this wonderful and charming guy and would really like us to meet him in person. So, being her sister (we call each other sisters) instead of friend that shows how closed we are, we of course agreed and set up couple date to hang out and meet.

The night finally came (which felt like forever) for me. My sister (my friend) introduced Gary (let’s just use this name) to us and at first glance i thought “yeah, this guy is kinda cute, he has this baby face and seems alright” and i am happy for my friend because she met the one and telling us Gary loves her and even discussed about settling down with her one day.

Now..this is the part where things started to fall apart..
It was all going smoothly for the first 1.5 years when everything started to fall apart one by one. You see, Gary moved in with my sister (my friend) when they were in their 8 months relationship together, that’s where everything changed. My sister saw the changes and Gary’s true colour. He started to come home late and the smell of beer was so strong. When my sister asked where he had been and why everytime he comes home drunk he would scream and hit and slap my sister telling her to shut up and stop asking questions and that she has no right to questioned where he had been. This problem continues and because of this, my sister refused to have our usual meet up session. When we asked her what’s wrong and anything she would like to tell us, she would say everything is okay and that she is just tired and needs to stay home and rest. We offered to come by her place and hang out but she refuses and said that her house is in a mess.. Hence, we only communicated via whatsapp ever since..

image 1.jpg

Until one day i decided to come to her house for a surprise visit. I knocked on the door but no one responded. I had to knock a few times and finally the door opened, it was half way opened and i saw my sister was trying to hide behind the door. I pushed the door again so i could see my sister clearer. To my horror, she had bruises on her face, her eyes, even her arms and thighs i mean she has bruises all over! She lost a lot of weight and just couldn’t believe how could a man she loves and trust all these years can do something like this? I told my sister she has to report this to the police because this is abused and caused injury to her. She refused and wanted to give Gary a chance and believe Gary will change. Well, this is my sister’s choice and i left her feeling so disappointed and i thought she'll make a good decision.

After 2 years together, she finally left Gary. She found out Gary’s been seeing another woman behind her back and decided to end their relationship. We are happy for her and told her she made the right choice and assure the right man will come to her when the time is right. It takes time for her to heal and after just 6 months apart, i got her whatsapp this morning Gary contacted her and asking for forgiveness telling her he is a changed person now and promised to make their relationship work. Really? the guy who broke my sister's heart and almost killed her? 😡

image 2.jpg

I believe giving people a second chance if they deserved it, perhaps maybe they can change to be a better person but forgiving is kinda difficult because the scar will always be there.

What do you think guys? Do you believe in second chances? I would love to hear your thoughts?

Thank you for reading my post and have a pleasant weekend ahead.

Of all the evils for which man has made himself responsible, none is so degrading, so shocking, or so brutal as his abuse of the better half of humanity; to me, the female sex is not the weaker sex ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Once a beater always a beater. Advise your sister to stay away from that jerk.

yes! haish..makes me sick that jerk contacted her AGAIN 😡

I don't know how to say this, sometimes people can change and deserve a second chance, but its hard to tell if its a case of abuse. Some people can transform into a monster if they got drunk. To my opinion, it's better if your friend just forget about that guy, but if she still want's to be with him, ask her to join an MMA class so that she can protect her self.

Yes I agree with you its hard to believe if its a case abuse. They tend to repeat eventually. I dunno why those men even exist 🙅

He is a jerk. PERIOD. Plenty of fishes in the sea. She deserves someone better than this lowlife scum. @gnaa80790912 Just tell your sister/friend that she don't need a man like that that to make her happy. Peace and good luck.

Yes u r rite @kilathecla we dont need a man to complete us especially with jerks like that. Tks for ur kind words 😄

My sister had a relationship with this type of man. The moment I knew, I put her under my wings and didn't give any chance for that man. As @viverridae said, a beater will always be a beater.
Now my sister is happily married to another man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73