You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having A Job Is So EXPENSIVE! Are You Making Money?

in #life6 years ago

I have worked exclusively from home since 2011. And all of those things you mention are so true. We took things one step further, living on a big plot of land I've kept goats and my wife a garden so we grew our own food.

Supporting myself as a writer on line has its ups and downs but your costs are so low you have a bigger expense than the gas, tolls, clothes, lunches out, etc.

You have self-employment tax and if not for the tax write off from the farm, my tax burden would have been insanely high. So, there are plenty of ways (and thanks to Steemit one more) to get off the train, as it were.

I remember saying to my mom when I first got laid off back in 2011 and I was making $1200 a month writing online, she kept saying, "why don't you get a part-time job somewhere?"

And then I explained the costs of that $9.00/hr part-time job was really like $4.00/hr and that I was better off just staying home and looking for another small writing gig.

And she said, "Thomas, if everyone thought like you no one would ever go to work."

At which point I just smiled and said, "QED."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85