Grama said "Don't get Old."

in #life7 years ago

It was light hearted the way she said it, yet still echoing a hint of truth. I guess I didn't realize what being 'old' entailed, at least not in a negative sense?


What is old anyway? Is it some hurdle at midlife, when your body starts to deteriorate. Is it when you get past 30, 40 or 70? I mean when does this happen?? Or how about those awkward teenage years, where you learn how to grow up and be old. Maybe you'd like to stay 21 forever, now that your Id is valid? I'm lost...

I personally felt oldest at 29, like my youth was about to slip away forever into all out manhood. It was about to get real and my friends made sure to point that out. The weirdest thing is; after the celebrations were over, nothing had changed.

After some time I felt pretty darn good about my trips around the sun (no disrespect to the flat earth society.) It was actually a relief to let go of the anticipation involved with approaching some kind of imaginary pinacle. I also found that my values reflected the point that I am at. In turn, I am and always have been happiest where I'm at. This is 'Now.'

My brother once had a councillor tell him; (in horse stance) 'You got one foot in the past, the other in the future. Problem is you're pissing on today.' Very wise, she must be old?

It sometimes appears that ladies have a harder time with aging? I'm not totally sold on this idea but I'll humor it only so much as to say;

No woman will ever be loved like Grama.


Dedicated to Hazel Pearl Smith


So let the truth be told, don't get it twisted.
Life is bout a minute, you can blink and you missed it...
@gordiedavis


Sort:  

Excellent short piece, good topic for all of us to think about. Thanks! ;)

I've asked the same questions, I don't feel old but my bones creak when I get up to go for my two mile daily walk. I figure walking reminds the body to stay together after you hit the 50 year old mark. My grandma never stopped creating things, she was working on a quilt when she passed away at 93, the day before she left she was joking with the family drinking her daily bottle of beer.

I guess the saying 'Move it or lose it' hold's true at times. My Dad is in his 70's, enjoying mountain climbing and gigging with a brass band. Your grandma sounds like she had the right idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68296.35
ETH 3839.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64