Mercy Begets Mercy

in #life6 years ago (edited)

good-samaritan-1037334_1920.jpg

Those who show mercy will receive mercy.

Whether you believe in Kharma or Allah or Jesus or Jehovah or are merely an observer of the human experience, this should be apparent to anyone with keen observation skills. I don't mean to depict Kharma as god but as a balancing mechanism as it pertains to those whos beliefs include it.

I heard just this morning from a prominent speaker on the subject of life skills that she had been extensively sexually abused by her father and suffered much in every aspect of life as a result until she learned to leave the residual negativity and resident in her psyche behind. Joyce Meyers

face-1617558_1920.jpg

As her father aged an was in need her care, she decided to provide housing and care for him instead of following her natural instincts, born of deep-seated resentment for the way in which he, who she should have been able to rely on to nurture her, had treated her, and the resultant impact on her future.

Well the upshot of that decision was that he, faced with this expression of love, forgiveness, mercy, forbearance, long-suffering and kindness, turned his life around and made her dream come true.

She said that in effect, she had not simply bought a house but a soul. What a marvelous surprise can come of an act of kindness and mercy.

She also pointed out that she had decided that keeping any animosity toward anyone does nothing positive to them, but poisons one's own being and deprives one of the virtues of forgiveness, mercy and grace, thus hampering one in achieving their own potential.

Potential is best achieved when the mind is operating in a state of happiness, where synergy is abundant and performance tremendously enhanced, as apposed to a state of stress or negativity of any kind or even in a neutral state of mind.

synergy-3220529_1920.jpg

https://www.ted.com/talks/shawn_achor_the_happy_secret_to_better_work?utm_campaign=tedspread&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=tedcomshare

Another notable example provided was in the instance where a fellow road user turns in front of you without indicating. The kind of thing which might bring out the worst in many of us. She said that in circumstances like this, one might decide that their indicator light must have just stopped working, or whatever thought is required to give the person the benefit of the doubt. The result of this kind of decision is that one is happier believing that the act was committed without malice or negligence but rather something beyond their control.

Choosing to believe them best about others in all things at all times certainly means that one will have a brighter outlook on life and ones interactions with the rest of society.

This kind of thinking about one's own happiness and its impact on ones performance, influence and charisma is clearly highly beneficial and well worth an extensive study and an undying effort to effect change in ones modus operandi in social interaction and personal development.

autumn-leaves-2963220_1920.jpg

Attribution : Inline attribution and Pixabay

Sort:  

I cannot fathom how she could have reached this level of forgiveness for such a heinous act. It is disturbing to me that he wasn't locked up for life. She probably wasn't the only victim.

Yeah, that is indeed hard to fathom and yet.

While my natural tendency is to agree wholeheartedly, I am reminded of the exhortation to leave judgement to Him who has that prerogative and further, that by the measure we use, we will be judged.

So if she chose to do as she did, who am I to judge more harshly, or at all, for that matter.

For the natural man is an enemy to God... Mosiah 3:19

Well I think we can judge people that don't protect other children.

A good while ago there was an US university student and anti-apartheid activist stabbed and stoned to death by four black men while a mob shouted anti-white slurs in Cape Town South Africa. The parents of the girl publicly forgave the perpetrators.

The men were released by the new government some time later.

Wikipedia

Now that is the kind of response I believe is expected of us. I believe I have forgiven everyone for every sin against me but I think I have a long way to go before I could do that.

I believe forgiveness is something you feel come to you, it's not something you can choose to do.

I think that she is a better woman than I a man.

I agree wholeheartedly with this post. It cant be easy doing what your Joyce Myers example did....my immediate reaction was to walk away lady...walk away and let him feel of your loss. BUT she was right to do what she did.
I believe forgiveness and kindness fix the person doing the forgiving and offering the kindness even more than those receiving it. That should not be the motivation in doing those things, but more of a blessing that comes because of it.
We have all seen too many people that are sour, angry and depressed because of not letting go, or remaining upset because of something that was done to them. It's sad and destructive.

Keep well and thank you

Love the carving BTW

I love your comment and the way you nailed it.

It doesn't matter the religion, mercy is reciprocal. When we give and show mercy, we obtain it too.

When we hold on to the past and never let go, the prisoner that is held is us, not actually the offender or one that hurted us.

Thank you. Is that your quote "When we hold on to the past and never let go, the prisoner that is held is us, not actually the offender or one that hurted us". It's brilliant!

Keep well and much happiness to you

Thank you very much. I must confess that I have just realized your true identity and its good to have you along. Now persuade Japa to get going :)

LOL! Japa?My old networking nickname? (Jappa)

Confusion, I meant Zenith :)

Yes that bugger wold post once a year :)

I gree with this post.

Your post graviton is very good and I like it.

I will follow you, you can check my article about What is a Lightning Network? and give me your feedback!

My article What is a Lightning Network?

Keep it up.

Really good! Thanks for sharing

Often think that about people Driving their Cars with what looks like a Cell Phone on the Steering Wheel!
Perhaps they are out testing a Top Secret Navigational Device?, and not really planning to kill me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43