TRICK: HOW TO FALL ASLEEP IN LESS THAN 1 MINUTE

in #life7 years ago

Sleep: the struggle is real. You can’t keep your eyes open after lunch at your desk and you definitely can’t keep them closed when you’re lying in bed.


4-7-8 breathing technique, an exercise which is meant to calm your body and your mind as you focus completely on your breathing.

Method has been pioneered by Harvard-trained Dr Andrew Weil

'It is utterly simple, takes almost no time, requires no equipment and can be done anywhere.'


It was last year when I was struggling to sleep due to the stress I got working. Few months where I need to finish one project and achieve the desired target. So.. I was suffering nervous, anxiety, sleepless and tiring daily journeys.
After trying diferents tricks: develop a bedtime routine, Take a warm bath before to go to bed, exercise routine, change sleeping position... and seeing that the situation was not changing, I had the luck to find the 4-7-8 breathing technique one day I was explaining this problem to a friend. I remember he said: "Try this method and your life will change".

The 4-7-8 trick goes like this:

  • Breathe in through your nose for four seconds.
  • Hold your breath for seven seconds.
  • Exhale through your mouth for eight seconds.

The studied combination of numbers has a chemical-like effect on our brains, and would slow my heart rate.

The first time he explained me this, I was thinking... it's going to be impossible! But surprisingly well, it works perfectly. It's true that the first days it take more time to relax as I was concentrated to do it well. But since the first day I tried the method, I was sleeping really fast! I didn't remember even how many times y repeat the process, I would say... less than 5!

NOW I CAN SAY THIS METHOD HAS CHANGED MY LIFE

Sort:  

I tried that technique, but my mind still races. I just can't calm down. I have heard you turn off all electronics an hour before bed and read and you will be lights out after reading! Take it easy and have a good night!

Yes, definitely breathing technique is a good way to calm down, but I had been suffering a lot of stress from work and martial problems. A friend of my, who is a sleep therapist, suggested that doing about 10 minutes of strenuous exercise just before taking a nice warm bath can do wonders. A lot of people have built up energy in their systems that they have to release before being able to rest. Even more important is that doing push ups or doing an exercise that stretches and rips muscle will require repair at night when you sleep. Body repair requires energy and you need to deplete that before you begin to feel tired. Just a thought for those of you who have extra energy to burn before bed. Good luck.

Thanks for the advice :)

Great post. Will try this. Have a great day friend

Many thanks! :)

Extra tip for folks out there: TV, computer, and smartphones emit light that tricks our brains into thinking it is daytime. Turning all that stuff off 30 minutes before bed will help your body keep it's natural sleep pattern that we have all messed up.

It's a good tip! Smartphones and tablets are not very helpful nowadays.

i started listen to the music and then i falled in 5 min

Music works as well. For me, when I was really stress, it didn't work...

Good technique. Slow deep breathing works well too. This seems to be better.

I would read a boring book like a technical Manuel or some thing but I will try this thanks.

it seems good . i'll try

You will be surprised :)

I had tried it too.
It's really working on me .
Great post.
Followed you please follow me back.

Great! It's a good technique :)

I listen to NPR. I am out in 2 minutes. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58