A life lacking afflictions

in #life6 years ago

I stand at lifes shore
Trying to keep score

Thinking I'm sane
I'm just playing their game

Not exploring my dreams
I just hear my screams

Desperate to take a stand
Thinking they'll never understand

Is this even possible
My life's collapsable

What makes me tick
Do they give a shit

They say they do
Yet they look at me like I'm from the zoo

I just want to tell them
What they could not fathom

The life I've lived
Since I was a kid

Was riddled with a puzzle
Felt I'd been muzzled

By their expectations
Rather than by my annotations

Go ahead and grow
They begin to crow

It makes me question
Their intentions

What business of mine
Is it to undermine

Their goals
And ignore their roles

Their impact on my mindset
Becomes my asset

When I no longer linger
To point the finger

Accept my lot?
Then I'd be fraught

I should be a good sport
Surrender my heart into port

If I do what's expected
I think I'll be respected

I know I'll be disapproved
My heart then behooved

I must find a way
To live another day

When I live with integrity
I feel my inner clarity

To live my convictions
Without afflictions

Let me show you my way
Come lets play!

Sort:  

Hey Greg I didn’t know you were here good to see you Greg my motherfucking waver Hope you had a great Thanksgiving

Good to see you to

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81