NEED TO REACH OUT

in #life7 years ago (edited)

8146_All-elements-of-life-in-hanging-bulbs-Abstract-wallpaper.jpg

Many things inspired this post. After reading @onequality’s post on health and with specific reference to depression I formed the opinion to write something about this.

It became even more pressing when @surpassinggoggle poured out his soul in his recent write up about how chocking his life was and lacked some basic things as rest, and comfort just for the benefits of us steemian.

Through his post I was let into the world of his, full of constant vigilance and little or no spare time. He really spoke from his soul.
And i will like at this point to state that my respect goes to all the witness in this platform who gives their all here to the detriment of losing comfort.


Also It was quite eventful getting to know @greenrun and I must say he is a cool guy, down to earth and willing to help at any given chance.
We discussed a lot of things in general and nothing in particular. The conversation actually took a different shape when he directed my mind to a steemian I never knew before now that took her life.

I was shocked to the bone, then I decided to check out her blog and discovered that she was doing well here on Steemit and a lot of people owe their own activities here too on the platform to her.

what-can-i-do.jpg

And the very questions that has kept popping to my head is why? What would have driven her to do what she did? What who have driven @surpassinggoggle to write from the depth of his heart and said something about; “hope the reviews he got was never too late”


You see, i have come to understand that life cannot never really be complete. At its best it is a continuous circle of needs that one would want to get satisfied. The whole race to find happiness does not end, because happiness of life is the illusive nature of the mind in its never ending search to fill a void.

It is as simple as this, four years back I had wanted nothing more than to get into the university. No riches, no comfort, no love and any attention would give me the needed satisfaction my heart craved for that period.
After giving out my sweat and blood to attain that status, life didn't end there, even though it felt as if I have achieved it all and wanted nothing more. But with time, the circle of another need was birthed and the search to fill that need has become another consummation of my soul.
Nothing would give me joy now to see that the state of my family is changed after my Dad passed on. Nothing would ease my broken heart to take a look at my mother and nod in satisfaction that yes,
“you can take a rest from all your labours for you deserved it.”


But then I was brought into the realities of the life by @surpassingoggle work. You want something so badly, you get into thinking it is the height of your rest or happiness, but life just have a way of creating that needed lack in form of the absence of smallest and tiniest little things that brings joy.
I asked myself why would someone have a need to take his or her own life. Irrespective of the fact that we face these race to fill a certain need, everyone wants to keep the life of theirs. The instinctive nature of man would even kill, conquer and destroy to stay alive.
But it becomes another thing entirely when you see no essence to defend your life and the chronic desire to take it. That is when it goes beyond seeing the hurt it will do to the ones who loves you, when it goes beyond seeing the sacredness of your own life and the devastation of your family, then you realise that you need help.


The obvious cause of this is depression. Funny and painful as it is, what depression does to people is to create a huge barricade that prevents acquaintance, friends and family to reach out to you.

I have a female friend whose state of being I cannot tell that i understand a bit. One moment she is all loving, the other she is in a trap, a hole, a shell that one cannot reach nor understand what is going on with her.
The effect of all this is shutting out those who cared for her. For in her mind's eye, they would seemed to conspire to hate her more for what she was suffering and not understand her because she was different.
This is not entirely true, I really care about her, but when I tried so hard to reach out and in response get the door slammed at my face, I could only do better than pray in distance.


Life is sick, demented and an illusion of what what we have as a perfect world, we work hard to attain one height, in the process digging a huge hole of another want or need.

reach-out.jpg

But the only way we could have at least a little of this fantasy of a desired end and rest, is to stay close to the ones we love. Reach out to those who really care about you and who you trust understands even your silence. That way, the problem with be battled through the unity in friendship and strength.

@onequality recommendations would go a long way to helping out in the circumstances.

And I want to state unequivocally that I do not boast to be a counselor, medical expert or a psychiatrist, I am neither any of these and will not be in time to come.


But if need be at the expense of repetition, I have to say that there is a therapeutic effect of always opening up to people, allowing them reach at the deepest part of your troubled mind, through their soft spoken words and advise, you discover that you become a little better that how you previously felt. Maybe not entirely whole but not as worse as you once felt before you opened up.


THANKS FOR THE READ

PicsArt_08-25-11.52.46.jpg
DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif


IMAGE SOURCE: GOOGLE
Sort:  

Surprised to see I made it to your wall of people that matter. Depression is a serious issue, I try to fight mine by writing and engaging in other offline activities. That, and other things, are the reasons I said I'll still write even when the pay is low or removed on steemit. Most times money can't buy you off depression as it usually have a deeper underlining causal factors. I like the camaraderie here, people go out of their way to help. It's surreal at times. Keep steeming ✌️

Indeed. People go out of their way to help. And there is a satisfaction it brings not even money could make up for.

Thanks for dropping by.

Peace.✌️

Occurrences in this domain are beyond the reach of exact prediction because of the variety of factors in operation, not because of any lack of order in nature.

- Albert Einstein

This is strange, life is precious. Sometimes you can't help but feel uncertain about things but then you just have to fight on. If everything were smooth, we would get bored and life will get bored eventually. The feeling of pain, sadness and eventually joy all sum up a success story. I only pray I don't lose hope in my times of depression not giving up. This was deep, you did well as to share.

Exactly. Just like the igbo proverb of 'Uwaezuoke'

The world is never complete.

I guess as you said, that is the success story. Thanks for stopping by @gloglo. I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71