Introduce Yourself – Number Two: Nature, Body and Life on Earth

in #life7 years ago

IMG_3006.JPG

In my ‘introduceyourself article’ a few days ago, I mainly shared about why I joined Steemit. Here is another short intro piece from me, as I also wanted to add a little ‘about me’, that was still missing in the first introduction article.
Here goes:
I am a freelance writer and editor and I share my knowledge and experience of conscious movement, yoga and mindful embodiment. I am a responsible, multi-skilled and creative person with a wide base of knowledge and experience and a passion for personal growth. From a young age up until now, I have travelled widely, lived deeply and have come to know much of myself and the world, while constantly inspired to learning more ...
I am based in Cape Town, South Africa, where I have been living and visiting since 2000.
At the moment there are many Wales to be seen in the oceans here. It is wale season. They come past to spend time, to birth, to feed, and to mate. Where I live (1-2 walking minutes from the sea) I can look onto the ocean below and often spot a couple of Wales spending hours in one spot. In the evenings and nights, when the sound of the city noise has calmed, I can sometimes hear their big, water-spraying exhales. A beautiful, touching and humbling experience having these benevolent and wise sea giants so close, swimming, communicating and playing.
I deeply love and honour this creation (!) – nature, the elements and all the amazing, creative and versatile beings and plants etc. Yes, I love the beauty, simplicity and intricacy of this life on earth, and am fascinated by the natural cycles of living, dying and becoming, the cycles of seasons and other rhythms of this ‘wheel of life’ here. I honour the gift of being alive and part of all this and am grateful for that which sustains all life.
One of the things that keep me sane in a very ‘loud’ world of much business, some stuck societal systems, much consumerism, competition, entertainment and city noise is spending time in nature, which I love doing – walking through the wild, visiting a tranquil waterfall or getting lost in the fields. I love how in nature I immediately feel ‘home’; I feel free and held at the same time, I feel expansive and connected, I can explore and play, I can recharge and let go, and my eyes can relax and soften in the beauty and truth of nature. It is one of those spaces in which I can truly remember who I am.
To consciously ‘hang out’ in my body (which obviously is a part of nature as well) is also something that helps me to remember and something I love doing. Various sports as well as breath, mindful yoga and expressive dance are some of the ways in which I carry on exploring my body-heart-mind connection and how it is like to consciously and fully live in this ‘vehicle’, the body – which is of course more than a ‘vehicle’, as it is also a part of who we are (even though I am always also more than my body, here on this earth plane I am never not my body, I believe).
Apart from loving nature and lived embodiment, I also love creating and collaborating with awesome people and being part of an active and change-bringing community, while arts, expression, dance, photography, music, literature, hand-crafts, ... are also part of my passion.
As I believe that we as humanity can wake up and once again embrace a way of living that truly honours ourselves, our families/communities, our environment and our planet earth, I assist in the proliferation of sustainable systems and support efforts leading to positive change in the world.
Check out this blog for various topics around personal, collective and global healing, around embodiment, awakening and personal growth.
Very happy to be here!
Hanna

Sort:  

Congratulations @hannamaria! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks :-) not quite sure I understand (still trying to figure out the steemit 'thing ;-), but will learn and posts will hopefully get more noticed with time ... thank you!

Congratulations @hannamaria! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @hannamaria! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hannamaria! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55