You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having a hard time. Got some very heavy news this week.

in #life7 years ago

Twenty one years of fighting. That is strength. If you think about all she saw during those 21 years, I bet she is very happy that she fought and won for so long. She saw your son and got to know him. That is the victory. When I was younger I thought having kids was the ultimate victory. Now I see that seeing them grow, be happy, and witnessing them feeling the joy of parenthood is an even bigger victory. Your mom did it. I bet you made a ton of great memories of these 21 years.

I know it hurts. It will hurt for a long time. I just hope that the gift of the last 21 years brings you strength when you need it. Your mom was strong. I am sure she passed that down to you.

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words.

She and my dad both did it, too. Dad held on for 27 years after starting a nice long list of health issues at age 44, including heart stuff, brain stuff, prostate cancer, a chronic form of leukemia, blood pressure, blood clotting, 2 open heart surgeries, a myriad of different angio-probing (plasties and grams) yadda yadda, on and on. But when he died, we believe he may have only had about 4 seconds due to either a blood clot, stroke, or heart attack. I tend to say he died suddenly after 27 years of dying slowly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69015.38
ETH 3758.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45