You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grandpa Balloon Chaser

in #life6 years ago

We use use to have an Autumn Chase festival here every year with Balloon day. There would be about 100 or so of them taking off from one park and landing in the park at the next town over.
We would always drive along with them and watch from the highway.
That was long before the days of digital photos. I do believe I still have a few pics floating around somewhere anyways.
It sure was a pretty sight to see all those balloons fill the skies.
I have always loved them. I would have chased that balloon too.
I really miss the festival. Would you believe I still have one of the t shirts lol

Sort:  

hey, @headchange.

They have an Art and Air Festival here where a similar thing takes place. Not nearly as many balloons, but probably a couple dozen, anyway. Having so many would be a very impressive sight—an air invasion!

I can believe you chased them down the freeway. I've been tempted on more than one occasion to get in the car and race them to the fairgrounds, but managed to refrain. Not this time. :)

And I'd also keep the T-shirt, too. Got to wear something, and if it reminds you of good times, even better.

You'll have to scan some of those photos to share then. :)

Well my pics were no where near as good as yours. But you are right it was very beautiful. I would take hours for them all to get From Bristol to Kingsport. They would space out the time between them. Lots of people would be there at the take off point and make the drive over to the landing.
Naturally there were vendors and what not at both sites. They still do one called fun fest but I think there were only 20 or so balloons that came last year. I quit going to those kind of things after the kids were older.
I do still enjoy when one happens to fly over the house. I really need to learn to be like you and keep a camera handy, even if it is just on my phone lol

It sounds wonderful. Well, things change, and we just need to find other things that can we can enjoy our time with, right? If we ever do end up moving from here, the balloons will definitely be something I miss.

I really need to get my iphone car mount up in my car, because there are plenty of times where I'll be going down the road and wish I could use my phone's camera for something I was seeing. It would have to line up through the windshield, but still, I think I could manage that better than trying to drive, hold the camera and push the button.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86