You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: Adding "Value" to the Steem Blockchain - Chapter 1

in #life6 years ago

After some time here quietly observing it is clear there is much more to Steemit than meets the eye. At first glance you see posts going up and the exchange of finances. That surface image can be very deceptive on many levels.
The more you observe the more you see other things at play. Like subtle undercurrents moving things along beneath the surface.
Money appears to be made when often this isn't really the case. Beneath that benefits are being earned that are rarely mentioned.

Some challenges of my own led me to begin research for a future post.
Though I was familiar with the concepts I wanted to add quotes and sources for the sake of credibility. The reading that began in response to questioning my own actions led to a new perspective about the platform as a whole.
People are here for many reasons. You yourself have stated the ROI in terms of financial reward is questionable at best. However from a psychological perspective the ROI can be very high indeed. There is much research indicating therapeutic value in writing. There are studies that literally document a change in cell structure for sick people who write.
Added to that are psychological benefits. Many people suffer from some form of anxiety or depression (diagnosed or not) The power of a complement, vote, validation, or encouragement. can not be measured in dollars. Many people are going through great ordeals in their personal life. Steemit offers escape, stress relief, sometimes even a laugh in a world where that is all to rare.
I follow a lady who is living in a walled compound because her coUntry is war torn. It is literally not safe to go outside the walls. She hopes through Steemit to get her story and situation some exposure. I would never presume to guess what she gains from her time here. From following I gain a great appreciation for the insignificance of my own troubles.
I myself came here because my income is decreased a bit in February of each year. The hope was that in a years time I could supplement my slow period a bit through Steeming. That I quickly became aware is not the case. Yet I continue on here. I watch this scenario play out many times as others come in search of one thing only to discover something of far greater value.

Sort:  

Thank you @headchange, for adding value to my post with your comments. Very much appreciated.

"However from a psychological perspective the ROI can be very high indeed. There is much research indicating therapeutic value in writing."

Yes, you've done a nice job here of providing more depth and detail to what I was saying in the post you inspired me to write:

"The benefit of all that “can be,” while certainly encouraging from a dollars and cents point-of-view (and maybe that is what gets you “in the flow,” for starters), has value well beyond financial measurements."

To me, your input, in and of itself, is an example of what working together "in here" can be, as altogether this post is of greater value than its individual parts.

While I am not consciously aware of (doesn't mean it isn't, just that like in other areas, I just "don't get it" ... 😊) a therapeutic value in my writing, I have certainly surprised myself about how much I am enjoying it.

So ... For now, I will keep at it and look forward to future exchanges.

Until then, all the best to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88