My Day 005 - Sunday Restday / Goals

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Sunday


Yesterday was a relaxing day. I read a book for most of the day about the philosophy of data science. In the afternoon I decided to ride my bike for an hour so I get my exercise in. It was raining and a little bit dark, but I went out. In 2018 I had said: "well I will do it tomorrow when the weather is better". But that's not me in 2019!

I live in the suburbs of Amsterdam on the south side and I drove all the way to a little place called Uithoorn and back. I like riding my bike and just explore the neighborhood. I will take some more trips on the days I don't go to the gym and will upload some pictures now and then.

In the evening I watched some Netflix (without chips or popcorn) and I talked to a girl on Tinder. This Friday we will meet. The last time I went on a date was last summer and that went horrible. Mostly, because I was not myself because I was still stressed with my 70 hour workweek. So I hope this time it will work out better.

Goals / Habits


I told you yesterday that I wanted to keep track of my habits in a table form. Well here is the table and I will give you some explanations for every goal I set.

GoalsMTWTFSS
Healthy Eating / Caloric Deficit------
Exercise------
Study Datascience------
No Alcohol------
Coffee < 4------
Socialize------
Daily Writing------
Reading------

So.. Monday is still empty, because it's still monday morning. I will give you an update every night or the next morning. Now an explanation!

Healthy Eating / Caloric deficit


2018... I worked for 70 hours a week on a neuroscience project on a department that didn't understand my research, but they gave me unrealistic goals. I got paid for 30 hours and worked 70 hours and still didn't reach the goals.. It was a very stressful period and I gained 15 kg. I always had an athletic body (played professional tennis when I was young) and now I looked like some pre-obese person. I already lost 4 kg in December, but I was to get back to my old weight so I have to lose 11 kg.

I have been eating a whole food plant-based diet for 3 years now. Well, make that 2.... Because last year I didn't. When I came home I just ordered pizza or veggie burgers. So this goal is only reached when I didn't order food, ate a whole food plant-based diet and didn't eat more than 1600 calories on the days I didn't work out and not more than 2000 calories on my workout days... In a future post I will tell you how I track my calories...

Exercise


This one is easy. I reach this goal if I go to the gym or have a run or a bike ride for more than an hour... As I said before, in the past I was a professional tennis player. I had some injuries and that's why I never reached the absolute top. This summer I will start playing tennis again, but just for fun with a friend. I hope I won't get the same injury again.

Study Datascience


I'm a neuropsychologist and I like brain research. The problem is that in the Netherlands there is not much money going to brain research. So when you work in neuroscience you get almost a minimum income and you have to work like crazy. That's why I decided to work as a freelance data scientist. But to do that I have to learn a little bit more about R and Python. In social sciences we mostly use SPSS. So I try to learn everyday for at least 3-4 hours.

No Alcohol


I already explained this in another post. I drank too much in 2018. Mostly to relieve the stress of my job. I also drank at home. That's something I won't do anymore in 2019. In January I will have totally no alcohol and in February only at social occasions. But also not that much and I will drink slower. So in January this goal is reached if I didn't drink.

Coffee <4


I also drink too much coffee. I'm a real coffee addict. But I also use making a coffee as a procrastination method. I drink like 7-8 cups of coffee a day. I already lowered it down to 5 and this week I will try to drink 4 cups a day, but my goal is to drink 3 cups or less. Coffee isn't that unhealthy, but it brings me a lot of problems. I will explain that in a later post, because this one is getting way too long!

Socialize


In 2018 when I was free I mostly sat at home with a sixpack of beers watching Netflix. There were some girls on apps (Tinder, Inner Circle) where I had very good conversations with, but I always cancelled the dates. This year I won't do that again and also I want to do more fun social things.

Daily Writing


Writing was always my passion. In the past I wrote really long stories and I also did a course in Creative Writing. In 2018 I didn't wrote a single thing. I have a good idea in mind for a novel and I want to write 5000 words a week for that. But this goal is also reached when I write here... It's a start and it's already more than I did in whole 2018.

Reading


On Goodreads I always set myself a goals to read a book every two weeks (26 books a year). Last year I read only 9 books! It was my worst reading year ever. So I will now read everyday. I want to read at least 10% of a book each day. Depending on the book that's mostly around 30 pages a day..

I think everything is clear now. I hope Steemit is an extra motivation to reach these goals. Going to the gym now and I see you in my next post!

Sort:  

Good luck on your date Friday !

Steemit has really helped myself a lot when it comes down to creating better habits. It's quite tough at times making a daily post when not having done what I set out to do, but sticking to it regardless is the key. It's nice to see more joining in on this quest to do better !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99