Why Getting Bothered Will Only Bother YOU!

in #life5 years ago

Have you ever noticed someone doing something that you felt you didn't like?

me upset.jpg

Did it bother you? 😫

Did it bother you because of your relationship to that person?

Would it bother you as much if you didn't know them, if they were just a random stranger on the street? 🤷‍♀️

See, a lot of us get really attached to what our significant other, our parents, our children, or our friends do.

Maybe it's because we see them as a reflection of ourselves, maybe it's because we want what's best for them... Whatever the maybe, MAY BE, it's really not serving them or yourself to dwell on what YOU don't like about THEM!

Let me give you an example for context:

Your husband leaves his clothes on the ground in your (shared) room and that bothers you because you LIKE to have a tidy space. You see clothes on the floor as going against having a tidy space and so there's contention in your mind. On his end, he couldn't care less about having a tidy space so he continues on with his way of throwing his clothes onto the floor.

You assert yourself and might say something like "I DON'T LIKE YOUR CLOTHES ON THE FLOOR!"

Where do you think this is heading? It's spiraling into an argument because you're pushing your needs onto another person.

This is a hard pill to swallow, believe you me, I know it!

I think I know a lot of "right" ways in life because of how I was raised and the AGREEMENTS I accepted an my own reality. They are so RIGHTto me, I think they're right to others!

The thing of it is, each and every one of us has their own unique interaction with this world and not everyone's opinions, wants or needs are the same so it's not going to get anyone very far trying to push their life view onto someone else. That's called conflict!

If every time you see his clothes on the ground (again, something that's perfectly fine in his world) you allow yourself to get angry and spiral that annoyance onto him, you are 1) associating him with resentment in your mind and 2) bringing your drama into his life!

People don't typically change habits because we nag them to and if they do, it's often out of coercion and fear or attempt of avoiding conflict which isn't a way we want change to occur.

So, can we get what we want and need without forcing our opinions on to another person? ABSOLUTELY!

This is a little bit crazy so hold onto your hat--

if I (MYSELF) don't like clothes on the floor, I CAN PICK THEM UP!(HOLY LIFTON! I know...mind-blowing!)

Why? Because it's MY problem! The problem is coming from inside of ME!

It's not hurting him! He doesn't care but I do so YES I can ask him kindly to try not to leave his clothes on the floor because of XYZ, but honestly, the problem is within myself and it's up to me to take ownership and responsibility for that.

When we take responsibility for our own thoughts, beliefs and opinions, our whole world view changes!

Instead of holding onto resentment which is a spiral of negativity, I can simply react out of love and that's guaranteed to give me more positive results both personally and within the relationship!

When I realized in my heart that things that bothered me were almost 100% of the time, not an attack on my personal life and that my life was not going to end because of it, I realized I had the choice whether to get upset about it or to change my perception.

Give it a try, don't sweat the small things!

💜💜💜💜

Love,
Cece 😘
heart thing.png
hearttoheart signature.png

[trial5.jpg
signature_1.gif

Sort:  

People who let things bother them will always find something new to annoy them shoot all their so called problems to the moon be they won’t be happy! All about changing your outlook on life and you’ll be surprised at how happy you can be with your current situation

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's entirely true! The problems are within! It can be a challenge to change one's outlook on life but as you said, it's a beautiful surprise to see what can come from just a simple change of perspective. <3

This is a little bit crazy so hold onto your hat--
if I (MYSELF) don't like clothes on the floor, I CAN PICK THEM UP!

Ok...do it for 20 years...if you are still bothered just leave the person without explaining...!

Why? Just leave what bothers you after a while, if you have to explain yourself to others you will start a biiiiig discussion and people like to battle and to win so the other person will promise you to change and stop doing it...bla bla bla...they say it the next 30 years and you still pick up the clothes from the ground...after you die and never changed...Hahahaha! Satirical joke.

Do it like Gandhi! Be the change you wanna see...I just leave people because i get bothered and they never ever changed their ways!

Nice article
Hugs 🤗

Hahaha thanks for the laugh @lotusfleur :) You're right though-- if someone says they'll change FOR YOU, they probably won't and it won't be for the right reasons anyway! People are who and how they are so it's up to us to decide if we're going to as you said > "leave without explaining" ;) or if we can handle our own minds bothering us! <3 > Be the change you wish to see is one of my favorite quotes of all because it asks us to be responsible for ourselves and that is genuinely powerful! Thanks for responding so thoughtfully! Have a wonderful day!

Cool. I made you smile! Job done...🥰😋😁
Yeah, when I started to understand the quote of Gandhi, my mind changed and everything around me too! I had nothing else to do...only changing the thoughts...
So easyyyyyy!!!

Have a great day my dear
From one heart to the other!
🦄

Love it! Thank you for sharing your beautiful thoughts with me! Now if only everyone in the world could switch their thinking to Gandhi's philosophies-- what an incredible change we would see! <3 Guess we better just keep spreading the good word! ;)

Its great when we are responsible for our reactions and responses to things. Its also great when we can openly communicate and find common ground with each other over little things we prefer. Thanks for sharing your perspective and great content here! I am new to Steemit, only a couple of days on here now. I am finding my way around and starting to share.

Hi @mistysummers welcome to Steemit, I was once on here a lot more frequently but now I come and go with the wind ;) Of course communication is key but we can't force someone to change because of our preferences, a beautiful lesson that's finally sunk into my heart :) I wish you the best here, it can be a wonderful space to meet like minded community :)

Yep. It took a while but I now know that I am responsible for my contentment. And basically everything else. It sure made life a lot easier for me.

Well, Sam probably helps a bit too right? :)

Beautiful thoughts here ! 🙏

Happy to be able to share ;), have a wonderful day!

'Control freakery', freaks me out!

Hahaha I feel the same (I think everyone does!) ;)

finally i also read your content. overall nice and also nice photography. finally follow you and resteem your post. and also wait for your next. thank you.

Oh thank you! I don't share half as much as I used to but thanks for coming by and reading my thoughts <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63