The toughest addiction I managed to overcome

in #life6 years ago

Without any doubt, it’s the waiwai addiction.
image
(Image source - Google)

Waiwai is a type of noodles found in Nepal. It’s very famous among Nepalese people. It’s cheap and tasty.

Back in school, I used to have classes from 7 am to 6 pm. Basically I ate everything at school. Since I used to be very studious, I didn’t have much time to spare to eat. Now that I think of it, it’s a huge mistake, but little did I know how huge of a mistake it was (at the time). I would eat this because it was cheap, tasty and didn’t take much time to eat. It would make me full. I would eat two if I’d be very hungry. I have gastritis. I should’ve never eaten it in the first place, but I ate it every single day.

5 Waiwai noodles a day. Not a joke! It became an addiction.

My mom would bring a whole bunch of those noodles so that I could cook it and eat it after school every day. But guess what I did? I’d eat it raw. Those bunches wouldn’t last a week.

In high school, I’d make sure I ate one every day. I’d buy it as soon as I see it. I would get lunch at school, so may be that’s why one or two.

After graduating high school, I realized how big of a problem it was and how it was affecting me this whole time. I decided to leave it. It wasn’t easy at all. I’d have cravings as soon as I see it.

I slowly started to divert my mind to fruits and other healthy food. I started to buy drinks instead of Waiwai. I started to not carry any money with me - in order to stop myself from buying Waiwai. And slowly, it became normal for me. Nowadays, I eat if I have one at home. Or else I don’t. I don’t call it addiction anymore because I don’t crave for it and I don’t keep it in a “high” level when it comes to being tasty. I think I eat one or two in a month these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71