The African Interview: A 5-minute Nugget

in #life6 years ago

image

Source

We are the architects of our problems.

Lame as it may sound, but it's the undiluted truth. Whoever told African recruiters that interview experience should be demeaning and horrible for the interviewed party is the primary cause of we still being referred to as 'Underdeveloped'; an adjective that's definitely not leaving us soon.

How can we not have a low level of economic productivity and technological sophistication, when talent conversion is slow and slot-filling corruption is never ending. Man-know-Man is a term that was, is and would probably still be in existence for ages. A fresh graduate is expected to either apply for an opening with 10 years experience obtained from their mother's womb, or accept a salary that's not even enough to buy the clothes you'll wear to the same job daily. This of course is a story for another day, and that day would come.

Truth be told, very few people start their career as a full-fledged entrepreneur, and consequently one has to get a job first, to learn the running of an organization and to imbibe certain qualities that would help revel in work or business. To get this job however, you need to pass an interview, or in the African case; an online SHL test, personality assessment, first stage interview, second stage panel interview, third stage one-on-one interview, and then the final interview with the Group Head or MD/CEO. And guess what? You still may not land the job.

Even more appalling is the fact that for multinationals, with Head Offices in Europe and America, their process is even worse, because once they hand over to Africans, the only thing they care about is profit/loss, not minding an err in process and a bad name being created for them.

It is sad that we Africans don't believe in our brothers, and are of the opinion that one must find it tough, go broke of your little savings and maybe die and resurrect, before gaining quality employment.

An interview in the context of a job, should be a face-to-face meeting to ascertain if a candidate meets required standards set, not to question one's upbringing, choice of favorite food or life objectives.

Recently, I applied for a switch from one Multinational to another, and the interview experience had me in shreds, despite my experience, age and IQ. It was a 5-man panel, (when I'm not an ex-con), comprising 4 women and one man, for a sales job, and as expected, it was a battle I wasn't prepared to lose for any reason.

We discussed on and on for about 25 minutes, and to be honest, the panel was hostile. Not as if I cared, as I was well drilled and wasn't going anywhere without securing that job. Then came the sucker punch that knocked me out cold. In a bid to highlight the variation in my choice of organization over the years, one of the women dropped a question that almost made me walk away.

In her words;

You seem to have switched between telecommunications and FMCG over time, I'll like to know what your aim is in life.

I died!

And when I resurrected, I asked her that I didn't get the question, just to be sure it wasn't a wrong choice of word, but she repeated the same thing.

I couldn't reply what came to mind, but my smile disappeared. Seeing that my countenance had changed, another member of the panel tried to rephrase the question, but I gave a cold response to show my disdain.

A salesman is a salesman, regardless of the sector.

That was my bloodied response, however the rest of my day was ruined by an unprofessional interviewer.

Me, not new to being on the receiving end of contemptuous questions from interviewers, I recovered in no time; however, there are many who wouldn't, cause it was too petty.

What Should an Interviewer do?

** You are the sieve of your organization, and that is where your job ends.

** You have no right to treat anyone with disdain, or belittle them because they seek to join your team.

** You have an obligation to give relevant feedback when you chose to, and not sentiment-based.

** Be emotionally intelligent at all times, and do not use your personal issues to judge a candidate.

** Be friendly, to say the least. You don't want to create the impression that your organization is a hostile work environment.

** Be time conscious, yes time conscious!

** When you know the process eats the whole day, please make arrangements for lunch for the candidates. It relaxes them.

** Have a process, a valid one you can always refer to in case of challenges.

** You're not God, so don't act like HIM.

...and many more you can think of!

As a candidate, make sure you're well prepared for your interview and you'll be fine.

Back to my interview

About two weeks later, I was contacted that I had secured the job. I researched on my unit in my soon-to-be organization, and the same person who knocked me cold, would be my team lead.

Did I take the job or not? What would you do in my shoes?!

Sort:  

Congratulations @herr.ekong! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @herr.ekong! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68