RIP Merle - Dec 2012-May 2, 2018

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20161129_203223.jpg
We love you, buddy.

I really don't know how to start this. Our beloved Merle has crossed the rainbow bridge. I held him as his soul left his disease-ravaged body. He just couldn't fight it anymore.

Collage.JPG

Merle loved giving kisses. He loved barking at and chasing squirrels. He was my Valentine one year. He was afraid of thunder and storms. He was behaved on leashed walks around the property.

Collage - Copy (1).JPG

One time he ran away with Loretta Lynn for over 2 hours. We delayed a trip because of them. Merle was my buddy.
He was one of the first to take your seat if you left it. "Merle! Get down!" I can hear the girls telling him that when he would steal their spots on the couch.

Collage - Copy (2).JPG

He was the only dog we had that would chase a laser and boy could he chase it! He would even chase the reflection of your car door in the sun. Many mornings were spent teasing him with the reflection of our front door and the sun.

Collage - Copy (3).JPG

Merle was kind of an asshole, too. He was the first to bark at nothing. The first to burst out the dog door to chase invisible people off our property, thus causing the other dogs to erupt as well. More than once, our neighbors have threatened to "kill that dog" when he would chase their dog off our property.

Collage - Copy (4).JPG

If he were still here he would be out in our yard soaking up the sun with the rest of his buddies. Instead, I wait for my brother and cousin to come help bury him. Sometimes life is unfair.

20150212_191417.jpg

For more on Ehrlichiosis and Merle's struggle, please read and upvote my post here. I don't normally ask for upvotes but we now have vet bills that must be paid.

Thank you.

Banner 1.jpg

Sort:  

He looks a lot like my housemates dog from college, Caboose. She was a wild pup. Dug a crazy big hole in our backyard one summer. Pure mischief. Miss her. So sorry to hear about your loss. <3

Thank you, @ferrisbueller. He was quite mischievous.

Im so sorry about Merle!!! Poor fur baby!

Thank you, @sallyswitchblade. He was a good boy.

My condolences on your loss. hugs

Oh @hethur240, I am so sorry to read of Merle’s passing. You must be heartbroken. He left his impression on everyone in your family. Be well my friend ❤️🐓🐓

I’m so sorry you lost one of your beloved fur babies :( And way before his time too. It’s so tragic but he lived a good life with his family. This is also a good warning to pet owners to treat for ticks. At least you have tons of photos and good memories of your little pal :) Sending tons of hugs your way ❤️

I'm sorry for your loss. I am 16 months since my bud passed and I am still finding myself getting sad remembering him and the lack of his presence. It does get easier with time but it still sucks. I hope you can get the vets paid off quickly.

Not sure if you have seen care credit. We use the card for the dentist but our vet also accepts it so we can use it for our pets. it is a credit card but they do no interest things on certain amounts.

Thank you, @flemingfarm. I might have to look into care credit if we can't get this paid off sooner.

poor guy.... so sorry heather

My heart is breaking for you! So sorry, Heather.

A few parts of this made me smile because he reminds me of Cricket! It's amazing how much impact they have on our lives. Thinking of you lots ❤❤

I'm so sorry to hear about your dog. They become part of the family.

Merle was a sweet boy... I'm so sorry sweetie and my thoughts and love are going your way today and in the following days. We love you!

Thanks, Jen. Thank you for being there for me.

Of course sweetie! I'm here whenever you need me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55