Switching it up!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is a heartfelt week for me. It is a New Year and I want to strive to be a better version of myself this year. I want to help others out more than I have last year. Lately I have been reading up on cryptocurrency. It took me a while but now I can say that I am finally learning more about how cryptocurrency works. Thank you to my dear friend @rodeo670 for introducing me to Steemit and cryptocurrency. He gave me the push that I needed to start this journey.

Currently, I have bought Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Litecoin and now earning Steem. I can say it is definitely worth the investment. I have investments started for my Roth IRA and my traditional 403-B which I signed up for when I started my job. I can now say I have investments for my future retirement. I recently thought, how can I diversify my portfolio? My answer was investing in more cryptocurrency.

In this day in age, cryptocurrency can either make it or break it for an investment. I believe that if you are patient enough, your wait will be worth it at the end. It happened for me when I decided to stay in Massachusetts after grad school. I was presented the opportunity to work at another department while earning double what I made while I was working to finish my degree. It finally paid off and now I am able to afford a house, a car, and make investments for my future.

Honestly, the best help I can give someone is guidance. @rodeo670 made a post last night that made me realize that opportunities present themselves at the most important times and it is up to you to grab it and help it grow. Although I am new to cryptocurrency, I am doing my best to read more articles and watch videos from people who have a better understanding of it. The best way I can help myself is to stay on top of what I am already doing and invest some time into Steemit for example and share my experiences with others.

What I would recommend for the new Steemit users out there who are in a similar situation is to look for your passion and make a goal for yourself. Making a goal is the first step in taking responsibility for your future. A lot of people I grew up with in the islands have no idea about what investments are or what opportunities the field of cryptocurrency can provide. I want to spread the word and help others provide for their own with some guidance. I do not believe that giving someone money for the time they need it the most is the best way to help them.

There is a saying that goes:

"Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime."
-Maimonides

This is the best gift you can give someone in this day in age. It helps others value what they do and learn how to make relationships with others who know more about what they want to strive for along the way.

This post is not about being financially successful or being the best crypto expert. It is about looking beyond the end of the rainbow and realizing that the rainbow was the façade that everyone was seeing while the pot was held up by hardworking people. The hardworking people are the ones who were facing critics that said that they couldn’t do it. They stood their head up high and were able to swim to the top of the water to survive while others pushed them down to drown.

Before I moved to Mass, I was told that I would not make it and that I would be back. That comment just pushed me to strive for more. I did not have a job for over 3 months but I was prepared and was able to save money for the time I was not employed. It took me a while but I was actually working from home by listening to webinars, updating and sending my resume to apply for jobs, and finding a way to learn more about what field I would like to be in after I finished grad school. That time it took to land me a job was the best push I had to do better for myself. I almost forgot how it felt like to be unemployed and just live off my savings. I was not worried at all because I was being frugal and I had family around me for support. You just need to keep striving and stay positive through the hard times. It will definitely pay off at the end. You will not win the lottery but you tried and that’s all that counts.

Thank you all for taking the time to read this post. It was definitely outside of the scope that I usually write about. I will probably share more about my crypto investments as much as I can. What cryptocurrencies are you invested in? Would you like to know more about something? What are your goals for the New Year? If you liked my post, please take a look at my other posts if you have time.

Check out my page for more posts:

This is an amazing support group for women:
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I had that same experience from my home town in Oregon. And truthfully i have had a lotta ups and downs. But i wouldnt trade my experience. I dont even really wanna go back but i might go to a smaller, warmer city .. hehehe

Wow, really? That is unfortunate. You're right, these experiences are what makes us who we are. Thank you for pointing that out. :)

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing this with us. And thank you for the mention! :) Yeah, it's crazy how much people from back home will try to tear you down for dreaming of a life outside the island....it's like, that's all they've known all their life so they can't imagine that anyone from the islands would ever be able to find anything else, you know?

Aw thanks! You are so right. It is all they know but the thing is, if you stick to all you know how will you ever know what is really out there right? It is up to other islanders like us to bring them outside the box :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42