Emergency visit.

in #life6 years ago

Nothing in life can hurt your heart like the sound of your child in desperate tears of pain. You feel so profoundly helpless, especially when they're crying so hard they cannot articulate what hurts, let alone what happened to cause the hurt.

That happened today. My boy (on Steemit his name shall be Inari) was sitting on the bed watching while the girls and I bustle about, getting ready to go out.

Then, to my eyes, literally just sitting on the bed, he is gasping in pain, crying his little heart out. For no immediately apparent reason! When he calms down it's his thumb. Being an 8-year-old Incredible Hulk he tried to get off the bed using only his fingertips, and his wrist rolled.

Swollen, hot, painful with his thumb tip numb, I decided he needed to go in.

20180204_123730 (2).jpg

It's a six block walk to the emergency room, not bad at all if your child isn't hurting and it isn't -4° outside. But we walk a lot, so he managed it like a trooper.

He told them on a scale of 1-10 he was at about a 6. He's always trying to be such a stoic guy, I know it had to have been hurting more than that since he wasn't even watching the television or playing, just staring off into space, looking lost.

20180204_124425 (1).jpg

They finally called us back and we sit and wait for an hour for a doctor to come in, poke at him enough to make him drop a few silent tears, order the X-rays and leave. More time passes and my sweet boy is brought back.

20180204_133446 (1).jpg

And then we wait, and wait, and wait some more.

20180204_133534 (1).jpg

The diagnosis, three hours after we walked through the door. Not broken. Thank goodness! The relief of those words is a physical release. The tightness in your chest comes loose and you can breathe again.

Inari has sprained it, though, so all is not perfect in his world. He'll need to rest it for a week or so, ice and some Motrin to keep the pain under control. Any tips on how to keep a boisterous young boy calm for a whole week would be appreciated. 💙💙💙

20180204_141029 (1).jpg

I think mommy needs a nap.

Sort:  

You will see some very nice steamiams transfered some sbd into your wallet. It make little time to cash them in but I think it will be enough to get you out of this situation ! I put an email on last reply. Email me and I will contact you right back and I will figure out a way with you ,to get you a smart phone that works out there ! If you get me during the day / I should be able to get it worked out on the spot. At night I’ll figure a way fir next morning. All the best jkenny

[email protected]

I don’t think there is a message. Here is a email I opened // You can send me an email. [email protected]

I sent an email, thank you for reaching out. 💙

Awww poor you guys! Stressful stuff! I am glad he is ok <3 Sprains suck though:(
Hopefully it feels better quickly. I hope you have a calmer night <3 xo

They sure do! He played quietly with sisters and now he's out for the night. Thank you.

He's one tough little guy, bet he takes its from mum. Glad it's just a sprain, nothing serious.

Tough and sweet for sure!

How much did it cost? My impression of the US is that such services are very expensive?

Luckily we have really good insurance (Thanks Obama). It can be outrageously priced.

When my youngest was very little she amputated the tip of her finger. Insurance did not cover the ambulance ride. I had to pay thousands.

What a walk in the cold. I bet that thumb hurt! I'm glad it's not broken! @ironshield

Me too, poor little guy! And he's always so active, he's got a rough few days ahead. But, it could have been worse!

Its well. Everything will be okay soon.. Much. Love from @michaelcj via #msp-waves

Thank you! He's typically a quick healer, he'll be okay. 💙

It’s pleasant after reading your homeless post to see this post and know you have several followers with deep pockets. That’s called - Answered Prayers.

Hang in there! MSP is looking out for your family...

Rosie.jpg

Thank you, you guys are freaking amazing.

The photo of your sweet boy is so lovely, he is such a handsome boy.

He is a pretty little devil isn't he? Those dimples kill me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79