You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discipline for a 7 year old.......'Home Improvement day'

in #life5 years ago

Great story. There lies the foundation of teaching principles and righting wrongs when it is time to.
I love your storytelling style. This one reminded me of a story by Shirley Jackson, "Charles".
I am precisely working on a post about a school activity I helped my wife with today; and I found it sad that the overall assessment of the activity was negative because of the parents behavior. Their not teaching by example, their lack of authority, their willingness to comply to their chuldren's demands.
It looks like that's today's IN.
Children love permisive parents and no parent wants to be "hated" for being a disciplinarian.
I'm only 45, but I feel 100 in that regard. I love old school. It did marvels formy parents and my siblings. It has worked with my kids. i can't undertsand why my contemporaries find it so difficult to do.

Sort:  

This is based on my daughter's recent experience with their foster daughter. the teacher was truly amazed to have parental support..............horrible.........should be the norm!
Parents seem to think they need to be popular with their children. there are lots of hair curling stories.
Good to hear from you.I'd love to read Shirley Jackson............will I find her on the Internet?
How's Venezuela? Still bleak? South Africa is in terrible trouble but there are many people who remain positive and hopeful.

Hi, there.
I think you should be able to read the story from here
http://storyoftheweek.loa.org/2010/06/charles.html
As for my country, things seem to start veering in the right direction. It's been too slow for my taste, but we have waiting almost 20 years, we can wait some more. Hopefully the transition will be less traumatic than some expect. If it is, lots of pundits here will have to stop pretending to be experts on other country's issues.
I hope South Africa can sort this one out. You have been an example to the world for some time. i'm sure you'll find a peaceful way to honor that legacy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71