College Prep

in #life5 years ago

I don't think I'm ready for them to be ready for college.

After my eldest child had two weeks of kindergarten under her belt, she announced that she knew everything she needed to know in life, except she didn't know how to drive, didn't work, and hadn't been to college. Apparently, she had not read Robert Fulghum's "All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten." After her confession, I began to wonder where she had heard about "college." Undoubtedly, my husband and I had made numerous references to it in our everyday conversations -- so much so that she knew it was something she wanted to experience.

Years have passed since then, and my daughter is only five years from the cusp of knowing everything, although she frequently acts like she knows it all right now. She already has a job refereeing soccer, driving is just three years away, and then she'll enter the hallowed halls of academia. I came home from work recently to hear my older two children excitedly discussing their college aspirations. They talked about majors, studying abroad, and dorm life. I stayed silent, mainly because I felt nauseous. I know they will leave, but why do they have to be so happy about it? I have encouraged it. Scholarship, exploration, and a desire to experience other cultures have been talking points in my parenting these past thirteen years.


source

Where did my baby go?

I listened in silence and then finally asked, "Where do you think you'll go?" "Stanford," she responded. "Like Uncle Randy?" I asked. "No, like Gabriella." I looked puzzled. "From 'High School Musical,'" she explained. I smiled with relief. Even though she was talking the talk, I knew I still had my baby -- at least for a while longer. At this point, the 6-year-old chimes in, "Mommy, I'm alweady weady fo' college." Yes, Babes, everyone is ready -- except me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @hnub! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 2.43% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @hnub!

You got a 35.65% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @hnub!

@dailyupvotes is the only bot with guaranteed ROI of at least 1%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75