You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sticks and stones

in #life5 years ago

Man, this sort of story just makes my blood boil. I suppose it's a sign of good writing that this really got to me. I get why kids behave like this. They don't know any better. But adults, I feel adults should do a lot more about these horrible situations. They don't understand how much it can hurt a child to go through this and that is inexcusable, in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Many of those adults know full well what it is to go through that, you know, because they probably went through it as well or at the very least knew someone like that when they were kids themselves.

Posted using Partiko Android

But it's easy to forget when you're an adult. I've met plenty of parents who even though they were unhappy children inflict the same misery on their own kids.

Yes, they perpetuate the wrong...That happens a lot.

This entire subject is convoluted and complex with many different elements to consider. Each human has to command themselves, and an environment doesn't always have to dictate to the individual. We all have brains in our heads.

Which misery? Making them go to school?

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, it's upsetting especially when the child may not know why it's even happening, the fact that they are different, for whatever reason. Kids are cruel though and pick on someone else for having glasses, being fat, thin, poor...Even tall. Yes the parents should bring their kids up right however sometimes the issue stems from the parents in the first place.

It can be character building as I wrote however can also break a kid, as I alluded to also.

I tried to write it in a way that made people feel something so I'm pleased that conveyed.

Thanks for your comment and for reading.

I agree. It is either make or break, and while i do try and think about older times in our history where there really was no room for weaklings (eg weak children make weak men) i also think it s somewhat unfair. It s a lot to ask of a kid...

I guess it's really hard just being a kid. You re trying to figure out a lot ofsocial stuff, who you are, where in society you belong etc and maybe that s what prompts kids to bully and be cruel. It does stem from inside the home often, but children of good parents can be bullies too. It really depends on the individual.

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally! The fact the abuse can reach inside the home through social media is a worry. I mean, my advice is delete Facebook and stuff, problem solved, but the world is different now compared to the world that lad above had to deal with...Society is different. I don't mean better-different either.

Yes, parents can do their best to raise great kids but the kid is an individual right? Despite the parents.

Like I said above, it's complex. A broad-ranging topic and not one a few hurried lines could ever clarify. A kids understanding of misery is just that, the kids. The kid in the blog thought, with every fibre of his being, that his parents sent him into misery each school day. And so it was misery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81