Who cares about the guy next door?

in #life5 years ago

Note to Self: Don't look up pictures of the guy next door. Don't. Unless you want to see pictures of shirtless dudes you really can't include in a post. Seriously who has such hot dudes living next door? I know I don't.

Don't you just love it when you're watching a TV show and you fall madly in love with a character? I mean they're really fantastic, the man of your dreams, the friend you never had. I bet you have at least one show/movie you'd like to be trapped in. That's the point of the entertainment business, to allow you a brief fantasy about how your life would be if it was you in that particular story.
Perhaps you have a favorite actor and you see everything they're in or a favorite writer whose writing just drives you crazy. A musician. Any sort of artist. And I really hope you have all three.

And then, you go online and find them on Instagram and find they're basically not who you thought they were at all. The actor who played so-and-so is only interesting as long as his lines and actions are scripted by a gifted writer. And a beloved writer loses appeal when you find him engaging in a political rant on Twitter. The musician whose words were balm to the soul becomes a dull stranger after the fifth picture you see of his cat.

It used to be that you set these strangers on a pedestal, that you could dream of them, but now it's no longer like that. In the age of social media, all your heroes have become average joes and that seems mighty sad.

I mean, it's fun to be able to follow along and see what your favorite artist is doing, but it also takes away from the magic, you know?

I don't want to see into the private lives of these celebrities because it takes away from the beauty, in my opinion. And no, by celebrity, I don't mean Kim Kardashian or anyone like that. But the writers I love and admire...I've grown tired of seeing them attacking (often enough in poor taste) Donald Trump on social media or complaining about X environmental issue. Too often, the most badass people on screen become bland and colorless through social media. On screen, you might trot around with a gun and seem fearless, but once my feed is flooded with picture of your breakfast and messages about saving the trees...yuck.

I mean no offense to the trees, I do think they should be saved as well and I understand these people are trying to help, but it's taken away something. A dream that people had. See, nobody knew what Richard Burton had for breakfast, you don't see any pouting-mirror-selfies of Liz Taylor.

And I know, artists are just people too. Often, they don't live up to their on-screen characters sadly and usually, the characters in your book are ten times more interesting than you are personally, but I don't want to know that. I want you to remain that revered, elusive figure.

In the words of my beloved Lemmy,


9387004_wenn22824497_rock_Star.jpg

But they so rarely are being from another planet anymore. They're really just the guy next door. And the guy next door sucks. You'd never fall for the guy next door.

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

The guy next door?
One is a local politician...nice guy ...but...geez
The other yells at his kids a bit too much for my taste.
Etc..etc..etc.

Besides I don't swing that way..

Hmm so you are saying that is better to live in a dream? One of my favourites songs is John Lennon's Imagine, a song about love and kindness and openness. He abused his wife and his behaviour was far away from the song 😊 but most of people choose to ignore that side and to believe their dream. I am not sure if is better...

Posted using Partiko Android

No, but that's different. If he were alive today, I very much doubt he would post online about hurting his wife or anything like that. He would probably put up pictures of his cats and write political rants. Which really brings everyone to the same level. If we had constant access to JohnLennon's mind through 24h tweets and cute Instagram pics, he might turn out to be nothing much in real life, smaller and peskier than his fans believed he was

Posted using Partiko Android

hello very good morning, @honeydue Very good your reports thank you. for giving interesting topics. From Venezuela. I can republish it in my blog and translate it in Spanish. !! Very Good Your Grateful Topics.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I never had you down as a Lemmy fan. My no 1. band of all time Motorhead!

I honestly believe he had no front.... he was just always himself and just literally couldn't give a toss what anyone else thought.

But Ironically he was also quite unremarkable - he liked music, booze, women, computer games.. and just indulged in all of them a lot!

Just be your fucking self. That's Lemmy's ultimate legacy!

Posted using Partiko Android

I disagree :) Lemmy was a lot smarter than most people. He was both intelligent and knowledgeable, not to mention a gentleman. I so think he was remarkable. I haven't come across anyone who has left such an impression on me. Not by a long shot. And not caring what others think and being yourself is remarkable if you.look at the world around. At least, I think so. Not many seem to manage that...

Oh yeah, I'm a huge Motorhead fan, always have been ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93