Demystifying The Idea Of Finding Your Passion

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Watch On DTube

Simple, Simple Simple

If there's one word that people freak out about when they hear it it's the word "passion". It conjures up ideas like leaving everything behind and starting some kind of business venture. Or it simply scares the crap out of people who have no clue about how to find their "passion". I know it can be a big scary word for lots of people. But today I want to share with you why it doesn't have to be that way and how you can find your "passion" if that's what you heart desires.

When I say the word passion I am simply referring to following your interests or as I always like to say, follow your energy. The idea is basically about taking notice of the things you really enjoy doing and spending time doing that as much as you can. Is that simple enough? Ask yourself this question:

If money was not an issue what would I like to wake up and do every day?


Hopefully you can answer that simple question. If you can answer it then great. You may be on to something here. If you feel that you still can't answer that question then here are some tips to finding what it is you truly enjoy or are passionate about. 

  • You lose track of time when doing this
  • You can't stop talking about it
  • People say you you are good at it
  • If you are not doing it you think about it all the time
  • You genuinely have a blast while doing it
  • People tell you it's impossible to do this
  • You spend tons of time doing this
  • You would do it even if you had no money
  • You spent a lot of time doing this in the past without even realizing it
  • You feel that it is a gift/talent
  • It comes natural to you

It wasn't until I started taking notice of some of these things that it got much easier for me to pinpoint what I wanted to be doing and what it felt like I needed to be doing. Plus I started actually experimenting and following my energy. Now I am here on Steemit/DTube encouraging people, playing basketball on a regular basis, and whatever else I enjoy doing. You've got to find it for yourself. Hopefully my message today has helped you move forward with much more clarity. Peace. 

If money was not an issue what would you wake up and do every day?

Have you joined the OneLoveDtube discord group HERE?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Travel 24/7, 365 days a year. There is no single more enriching experience than traveling: it takes you out of your comfort zone, makes you learn a ton of stuff about yourself and the world, and you get to see beautiful things in the process.

While traveling, I would take the time to learn every language I come across, and not leave a place until I am fluent: learn Japanese in Japan with Japanese people, Hungarian in Hungary with Hungarian people and so on… Learning a language is challenging, but it is also an outstanding way to get unique insights about the world and different cultures.

You sound like my wife and it's true. Traveling exposes you to many great things and lessons.

Again smart ideas by @humanearl sir...
Actualy I have one quetion....What would you do with your life if money were no object?

Things for me wouldn't change all that much. I'd still be disabled though I'd be able to go off disability and get better insurance. I'd definitely live in a nicer place and help out my closest friends and family who might need it.

I know I'd definitely hire a nutritionist to make my meals so I could lose weight and get in better shape, hopefully making it easier on my back and knees.

I know I'd definitely travel more. Nothing crazy but I'd be able to pay my friend back for the wonderful trips she's taken me on over the years.

I would see more plays and concerts, get season tickets to the Florida Panthers for myself and a few friends and just enjoy my retirement as well as I can with the chronic pain I live with.

I would like to set up a fund for other men and women with disabilities that fall into the gap of not having enough to live on yet don't have a low enough income or assets to get help anywhere else. SSDI doesn't give you much and for many of us, it's really not enough to live on unless you want to live in a hovel and basically have no life, just exist.

No, things wouldn't change all that much for me, but the relief from financial burdens would definitely reduce my own daily stress and allow me to breathe without the panicky feeling I get now.....
Wel done sir..

I hate hearing people not being able to do things they want for the lack of money. Many people can relate to your story. I had no clue you were dealing with those things. The good thing is that there are many new financial opportunities coming out. One being Steemit.

For me I would do exactly what I do now. I have been waiting for an opportunity like this for the longest time.

Most of the youths in my neighborhood do not understand passion!
The statement

if money was not an issue what would you wake up doing

Clears out the term passion.
When one expands his passion and makes it a source of livelihood, one tends to succeed very well.
Thanks for this breakdown.

Glad you understand it because most get hung up when you say passion. I tried to do my best to simplify it.

Loading...

You've put together a stronger formula (or do I say guides) for one to identify where his hearts and brain belongs. It's a joyful thing to find your passion, to find that which you can do happily. I remember once when I was at an interview for a job in one of the top firm to work for in the world (I blogged about it some months ago). I have finished the third and last day of the interview, when the partner asked a question that changed my life forever. He asked

30 years from now, will you be happy that you choose to work as a tax associate in the tax department?

It struck me, I never tried looking back at my life from the future but when I considered going forward 30 years to look back at the decision I was about to make, I knew I'll likely regret it in the future. So, I swallowed hard and rejected the offer. I never regret it till today.

Man good for you for having that insight into your own life. Most people struggle to make a decision like you made because it's hard for them to see passed the money. I was in a similar situation like that as well so I definitely understand how you feel. Now is the best time to take advantage of your skills and find ways to use them. We can do this now.

Ask the person what he would do if he had a lot of money and he will think about it all day. I really thought, but what would I do?
For a start, I would wake up happy, not because I have a lot of money, but because I will not engage in boring and uninteresting work. I will do what interests me, read interesting and rare books, drink the world's most delicious tea and coffee, do charity, and finally endlessly travel around the world. This list can be continued indefinitely, the main thing is to live and be happy.

Boring and uninteresting work is a part of the curse. This is why we feel like robots doing some work. I have felt that way before. Not anymore though since I create content everyday. Hopefully you find what you are looking for. I would say take some action steps now to help you get closer to that goal.

Those are great tips. The most important thing is to focus our passion on things that will add value to us and others around us

Exactly. This is what I talk about alot. Just focus on giving value over and over and over.

Great idea to share with us bro! And by looking forward and sharing to others our passion is a big LIKE by our Father above, 'cause all his child is moving forward to their own PASSION in a GOOD Manner or way!

As they always saying: "Always be Passionate!"

Very true and great words. God gave all of us gifts to use and things we are passionate about for a reason.

In Buddhism ,
Passion is Cause & Trouble is Effect .

I didn't know that. Interesting. Thanks for the insight.

Yes I would still wake up and do something cos I love to be active and participate just like every human. It makes me feel alive.

Writing is one of the things I like and spending time on steemit is another. Its like fun to me. Sometimes I stay inside all day just to be online on steemit

I hear you on that one. I do the same from time to time. Although now I also want to do other fun things throughout my week. I am trying to gain a little more balance in my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63