Morality Is Relative & God Is Immoral For Killing People In The Bible

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Watch On DTube

Standard of Good & Evil

Is morality truly relative or is it objective? What is justice? Is it just to kill someone for committing evil acts? These are mind spinning questions that I specifically want to ask in order start a conversation. At this point in history, at least in my world, it seems that objective truth is being rapidly eroded and replaced by relative morality and a myriad of other relative ideas about the way the world works. One question in particular that is often asked by tons of people is this. "Why did God order people to be killed in the Bible?". This is a great question that many want an answer to.  If I may, let me oblige you by sharing my thoughts from a biblical perspective. 

Where does morality come from and is God unjust for his actions in the Bible?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Man, you really like to tackle the difficult topics. I'm sure glad that God doesn't treat us like that nowadays or we'd probably be in a lot of trouble. 0.0

I tend toward an "Existentialist" system of "ethics," which basically states that each individual must discover, or, more accurately "create" his or her own ethic. Basically because, as you seem to be moving toward: there is no "objective" truth that can be applied in each and every situation; therefore, it is left up to the individual to ascertain their own "truth." One of the more famous existentialists, Albert Camus, talks about the absurdity of our existence--how there is always "another perspective," or solution to an ethical problem; this results in an absurd universe in which each person is left to themselves to decide where to go. I identify very strongly with Camus' belief. Dogmatism is just ridiculous to me. Thanks for the post!

Similarly, the older I get, the more I realize how crucial mutability and flexibility is. We see it all the time, like in business, for example. The "old guard" becomes stagnant and self-satisfied that they have some sector "on lock--" and when they "new-fangled-young-gun" hits the stage, they balk at his precociousness. But it doesn't take a genius to see that his or her arrogance will be their downfall (pride goeth before...). Some companies such as Kodak, or Xerox seem to have fallen victim to this dogmatism. Unwilling, or perhaps even unable to change with the times, they have been absorbed and surpassed by those willing and capable of diversity!

But to further your statement about the Christian God being "immoral" for "killing," well... Yes and no. In my opinion, if you are going to adhere to the belief in a transcendent, omniscient being, then, necessarily, he (in this case) MUST be "above the law!!" Because if one allows for authority, well, then, there will necessarily be certain actions which the "underlings", by design, do not, and cannot understand. (Which is why the Bible also goes to great lengths to minimize human understanding and intelligence, while exalting "God's." (I.e, don't think too much or you might figure out what a scam this all is!! ;))

Personally, I've gone back and forth between belief and non-belief. I see the benefits and understand the basic ideas behind each, I think. (there again, a "good" Christian would likely not "lean on [his] own understanding..." but on God's: who will then "make straight your path..." (Proverbs, 3: 5-6).

@humanearl, Actually morality truly relative. I don't mind it would be objective. I don't know lot of Bible things coz I'm Buddhist in this platform. Buddha lessons taught us what about morality. I think everyone can change Morality through change their mind.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

@humanearl, My meaning is for morality, good things. Stop the wrong words, works and activities. Other thing is morality is learning to people how to do the correctly.

Congratulation !
Your Video on dtube!

I am @Rihannas!
You are Amazing and Your Post is also Amazing . I Like Your Post .

And congrats! This is awesome!

Morality is really relative. In different religions the notion of morality has a slight difference from each other. The issue of biblical morality often becomes an occasion for reflection and controversy. One way or another, but observing the biblical commandments has a positive side. It's my opinion

@humanearl I really enjoy your take on the Old Testament. The Caananites were doing acts of evil period. They all got what they deserved in my opinion. Great post my friend.

@humanearl - Sir Justice is the standard of Good & Evil, you shred the right point... God never gives wrong justice for anyone Sir...

+W+

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99