What is the easiest way, in YOUR experience to learn a new language?

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Figure out what language you wish to learn.

Now go and live with people that speak that language.

Eu fala portugese moito bem, porque eu vive ali em Portugal para tres anos meu!

And, in those three years, I spoke portugese, listened to portugese and interacted with the locals as much as possible...in portugese.

I still do. If I hear a person speaking, I interact with them and speak.

As babies, we learn through imitation and repetition.

So, doing just what you did as a child is the way to learn.

And not being embarrass to make mistakes, just like a kid has no idea yet what a "mistake" is and keeps on saying silly words, keep on speaking it and eventually, it comes out right.

Oh, I also took lessons one on one with Maria Juan.

She was in her thirties and I was early twenties.

I loved my lessons;)

And MJ never let me speak English.

E-GO 2018

Sort:  

I'm trying to master Spanish .. but it's so hard if I'm not "in" the actual Spanish speaking country. I've tried books, YouTube, etc. but consistency and being surrounded by the sound of Spanish speakers is key. Hard to do that from Hawaii.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83