Money isn't the only thing that makes one's life rich

in #life5 years ago

images (2).jpegImage source: Flickr

I was reading The Garden Is Finished by @mikehamm when I stumbled on this line

...money isn't the only thing that makes one's life rich

That line caught my attention and got me thinking for a long while. Well, here are my thoughts on that line.

Money

I've always been interested in money. I mean, it's one of the reasons I'm right here on steemit. I like money and I want plenty of it. But money...

I like to think money is overrated. Drake said

Niggas with no money act like money isn't everything.
-Up All Night Drake Ft Nicki Minaj

Well, I'm probably one of those 'niggas' with no money but I dare say money isn't everything. Money solves a lot. Money allows one some measure of freedom. Money allows one to enjoy certain privileges of the modern life. Money is good. I want it. But money isn't everything.

Money isn't the only thing...

My point is this: while money is so grand and useful, it isn't the only thing in life worth pursuing. Money isn't everything! There's a lot to life than just amassing money.

To appreciate my viewpoint, consider this: Money is simply a means to an end. It is not an end in itself. When people pursue money, they are pursuing it as a means to getting something. It could be a sense of importance, financial freedom, influence, happiness.... The list goes on and on.

What makes people feel like money is the excessive focus everyone places on money. I dare say half of the hip-hop songs in Nigeria are themed around making and spending money. Well, guess what. A life filled only with money is an empty life.

The ultimate reason why we chase money or engage in any endeavor is because we want to be happy. It's that simple. Some way, some how, people believe money will make them happy.

Money can make you happy, I don't dispute that. But money isn't the only thing that can make you happy.

Money isn't the only thing that makes one's life rich

Most people would tell you they agree with that sentence but it's mostly lip service. Some other times, they get engrossed in the rat race and forget everything else. I also get caught up in the race for money too. In fact, there are times I feel it would solve all of my problems.

However, what we all really need are rich lives. When I say rich lives, I have some things in mind.

To me a rich life includes the following

  1. A sense of purpose

  2. A community (family, friends, etc)

  3. A value system.

  4. A sense of gratitude and satisfaction.

You can probably add more.

Money can help. With money, you can pursue your pursue your purpose, support family and friends and all that. However, it's only a means.

I think this is gradually turning into a rant so I'll stop here. I'm eager to continue the discussion in the comment section though.

What do you think?

Sort:  

I think you said it all baby...money is a means to an end. It does make life easier. However, pursuing money to the exclusion of all else would leave the pursuant empty eventually because he would have lost everything that money cannot buy and then the money would become useless in the long run.

#Bigwaves

😁 😁 😁

I love your comment. I don't wanna ruin this by saying anything else.

Blessings

Money is one of the earned riches in human life.

I think we must not deceive ourselves in devaluing its importance in our modern lives. Most underplay it, usual to their benefit. It's as crucial as air. It motivates us because without it people do not survive, to be frank.

Thus, money must be acquired for an adult to function in our societies.

I agree with you

Money solves a lot. Money allows one some measure of freedom. Money allows one to enjoy certain privileges of the modern life. Money is good. I want it. But money isn't everything.

However, my point is that MONEY ISNT EVERYTHING.

I didn't downplay the importance of money. I only said it shouldn't take our entire focus

You did great, and I want to state, I totally agree that MONEY ISN'T EVERYTHING.

It is a small part of everything, and we made a big deal of it in our organized societies, to restate what you said in a different way. You are right, it should just be seen for what it is, means to an end.

Thanks for posting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86